Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
July 25, 2014, 06:08:17 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat(1)  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Queens for splits or requeening  (Read 1166 times)
doak
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1788

Location: Central Ga. 35 miles north of Macon


« on: February 26, 2010, 11:43:49 PM »

Just wanted to title that for some in the rapid growth section. Bee yard expansion or what have you.
For rearing the queens you want the "cell building" colony to be big and strong. The cell "starting" don't have to be as big but of good size. It is advisable  not to use a "nuke" to build queen cells with.
You also would like to have a good drone colony that has a good queen if possible. Also try to keep the colony you want to rear  your queens from to a minimum of drones.
Once you have the capped queen cells, then you can put them in queen less nukes. It is then called a "mating" nuke. Once the queen is mated and you are sure she is laying a good pattern,  then she goes on her intended journey.

As with a walk away split, it's a coin toss if you don't have enough bees for the cell building.
Rear 3 or 4 good queens the right way then split a big 2 deep colony 4 ways and give three a new laying queen and you should be good to go. and leave the old queen in the mother hive, unless she needs re queened.
night jon boy, :)doak
Logged
David LaFerney
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 924


Location: Cookeville, TN - U.S.A.


WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2010, 10:24:27 AM »

If you raise queens early (Say April) can you just keep some as spares by leaving them in small (one frame) mating nucs all season long and giving them more space as they need it?   In other words is a mating nuc with a cup full of bees a viable colony that can take care of itself as long as you don't expect it to build up enough to winter?
Logged

"It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so." Samuel Clemens

Putting the "ape" in apiary since 2009.
doak
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1788

Location: Central Ga. 35 miles north of Macon


« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2010, 11:41:05 AM »

I would want to keep about two frames of brood. make the nuke 4 or 5 frames of standard size. Gives you extra brood for adding to a weak colony to boost it till what is decided to do with it. Gives you an extra queen for ready use in case the event arrives, starting another colony and the list goes on. If you are running as many as 4 or more colonies it would not hurt to have several such nukes.:)doak
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.214 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page July 24, 2014, 11:52:52 PM