Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
April 19, 2014, 04:28:06 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE

Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Brand new diabetic :-\  (Read 1883 times)
Sean Kelly
Field Bee

I Pick; Therefore I Grin

« on: February 18, 2010, 02:15:51 AM »

Found out two days ago that I'm Type 2 diabetic.  Barely with a A1C of 6.3% but definately got it.  My doc doesn't have me on meds and wants to try and kick this with diet and exercise which I'm not good at either one.  But at 31 years old, I'd rather work out and eat better than worry about a heart attack or stroke.  I'm too young to worry about that sort of stuff.

Got a One Touch Ultra Mini meter which is pretty awesome.  The little test strips plug in and sucks up the blood drop, giving a instant reading.  Always kinda wondered how these things work after seeing the commercials on TV.  The finger poking sucks though.  It came with a thing called a "Lancer" that when you push a button it quickly pokes you.  Except I have calloused fingers from being a musician and a blue collar tanker trucker and couldn't get it to poke through.  There are depth settings from 1 to 9.  Started with 1 and worked my way up to 7.  By the way, I HATE NEEDLES!!!  Those first 6 were SCARY.  And the 7th finally actually bit me. 

Anyways, it sucks.  I have a VERY EXPENSIVE class that I have to take in a month.  Not sure why I have to take it or what they cover or why it freakin costs so much ($1600).

Sorta ironic though, a beekeeper who loves honey on everything becomes diabetic.  Any other diabetic beeks here?  Any diabetics in their 30's here?

Sean Kelly