Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
July 25, 2014, 04:02:12 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat(1)  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Ubuntu help wanted please.  (Read 1848 times)
Yappy
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 127


Location: North Vancouver BC, Canada

"Your darnest Questions, get the best Advice"


« on: October 07, 2009, 09:36:47 PM »

Ubuntu help wanted please.
I just added Ubuntu 9.04 64bit so now i am triple booting.
Testing to see if i will Buy Windows 7 or stick with xp (already paid for) + 7 RC free till June 2010 or Ubuntu.
Will wait and also try Google OS when it arrives.

Have A small problem, i am not a programer and very poor keyboarder. I mostly cut-n-paste with mouse.
Added Ubuntu 9.04 64bit, it installed great and updated except for a few security files.
I use 2 monitors, in both  Win 7 RC and XP MCE as one extended one, But  Ubuntu freezes if I unchecked “mirror” in Display preferences.
I checked the ubuntu form, it seems others have same trouble too, but cure is for applying a programing hack, a bit over my head.
Any helpful ideas to solve this bug?
My system: Dell dimension 9100, 4 gigs ram
      monitors: 1. LG – L205W
            2. DELL 1905FP   
         Radeon X600
         TVT 3 Duel TV Tuner
Thanks ahead,
... Rob
 ps: Was Beemaster.co built on Linux?
Logged
KD4MOJ
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 678


Location: Tallahassee, FL 30° 27' 16" N / 84° 20' 48" W

Bees... Motorcycles... amateur radio...


WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2009, 09:49:22 PM »

Fireguy I don't use two monitors.... but what was the 'hack' that was posted to work?

...DOUG
KD4MOJ
Logged
Yappy
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 127


Location: North Vancouver BC, Canada

"Your darnest Questions, get the best Advice"


« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2009, 11:10:58 PM »

I lost track of where it was located but this is almost the same type of answer:   https://answers.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/xorg/+question/16569  ,  huh after the first page i gave up to much of a language unknown to me.

Logged
bigbearomaha
Guest
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2009, 11:29:43 PM »

Best solution  I can give you is...use OpenSuse or Debian.

For desktops, I would tell the 'typical' computer user to go with OpenSuse.  I realize this doesn't help you get Ubuntu configured, but  I gave up on Ubuntu a long time ago

For servers,  I use either CentOS or Debian, Clark Connect and OpenSuse as a server is pretty good.  but mostly CentOS and Debian.

Big Bear
Logged
KD4MOJ
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 678


Location: Tallahassee, FL 30° 27' 16" N / 84° 20' 48" W

Bees... Motorcycles... amateur radio...


WWW
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2009, 07:41:39 AM »



      monitors: 1. LG – L205W
            2. DELL 1905FP   
         Radeon X600
         TVT 3 Duel TV Tuner

   Rob I'm assuming that the x600 and the TVT tuner are what you are using for dual monitors? I'll try and add my tuner card (forgot what kind it is) to my Ubuntu setup this weekend (or maybe tonight) and see what I can find out.

  Just curious.... what app are you using that you want two displays running? Or do you just want a very big desktop?  Smiley

...DOUG
KD4MOJ




Logged
BoBn
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 195

Location: USA


WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2009, 03:10:56 PM »

after the first page i gave up to much of a language unknown to me.

Can you post the text of the file?:
/etc/X11/xorg.conf

This is file that has the settings for your monitors and graphic cards.

If you are going to try to modify it, you should be prepared to undo any changes with a backup file.

You should learn to be comfortable with a plain text shell in case you temporarily mess things up.

Try dropping to a shell by pressing <ctrl><alt><F2>  (you get back to your gui screen with <ctrl><alt><F7>

So the first step is making a backup copy of your xorg.conf file like this:

Drop to a shell:
<ctrl><alt><F2>

Then:
login with your name and password

Change directory to where the file is:
$ cd /etc/X11

Make a copy as superuser:
$ sudo cp xorg.conf xorg.conf-old

When you are done, you can press <ctrl><alt><F7> to get back to your desktop.




Logged

"Millions of innocent men, women, and children, since the introduction of Christianity, have been burnt, tortured, fined, and imprisoned; yet we have not advanced one inch toward uniformity. What has been the effect of coercion? To make one-half the world fools and the other half hypocrites."
--Thomas Jefferson
Yappy
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 127


Location: North Vancouver BC, Canada

"Your darnest Questions, get the best Advice"


« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2009, 03:27:34 PM »

Doug
>Just curious.... what app are you using that you want two displays running? <
I normally use windows media centre as a PVR TV, RECORD TV and watch when i like, on one monitor' , and surf  or computer cadd or whatever on the other monitor. 
 
>Or do you just want a very big desktop? < Yes
... Rob
Logged
Yappy
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 127


Location: North Vancouver BC, Canada

"Your darnest Questions, get the best Advice"


« Reply #7 on: October 08, 2009, 03:33:04 PM »

BOBN,
>You should learn to be comfortable with a plain text shell in case you temporarily mess things up.<
I will try latter, getting back house repair now.
BTW , How to learn to make linux changes?
... Rob
Logged
Yappy
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 127


Location: North Vancouver BC, Canada

"Your darnest Questions, get the best Advice"


« Reply #8 on: October 08, 2009, 05:05:09 PM »

 Cry my bad misplaced linux password ubuntu, or it messed it up. Likely me  embarassed
Is there a way to make a new one without starting install from start?
Logged
BoBn
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 195

Location: USA


WWW
« Reply #9 on: October 08, 2009, 05:16:55 PM »

BTW , How to learn to make linux changes?
... Rob


A very good place to start is William Shotts Jr's Linuxcommand.org:
http://linuxcommand.org/learning_the_shell.php
Its fun and very powerful.
Logged

"Millions of innocent men, women, and children, since the introduction of Christianity, have been burnt, tortured, fined, and imprisoned; yet we have not advanced one inch toward uniformity. What has been the effect of coercion? To make one-half the world fools and the other half hypocrites."
--Thomas Jefferson
Yappy
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 127


Location: North Vancouver BC, Canada

"Your darnest Questions, get the best Advice"


« Reply #10 on: October 08, 2009, 08:04:45 PM »

All ok with password, got it back., grin
So i downloaded "hardware drivers" and "ati catalyst control centre"
triied to system - preferance - display to setup both monitors,
 Both showed up in proper places ,  cool clicked ok hit enter.. Not good!  huh
Now messed up both monitors, one not on, other split down centre half giberish, half one blurry colour!
after rebooting. linux gone not listed as a choice at all.
picked Win 7 and using that now.
What the @&^^@@ ,  huh
Logged
Yappy
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 127


Location: North Vancouver BC, Canada

"Your darnest Questions, get the best Advice"


« Reply #11 on: October 09, 2009, 03:20:20 AM »

I re formated ubuntu drive area and reinstalled. All works fine now.
Thanks for suggustions.
??  Is there a way linux canbe setup as a tv vcr. recording TV and play back?
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.27 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page July 13, 2014, 04:49:51 PM