Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
December 20, 2014, 06:42:37 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Is there a faster way to install eyelets?  (Read 1613 times)
davidawbrown
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 17

Location: Ireland


« Reply #20 on: July 12, 2014, 11:14:48 AM »

huh  What could be easier than loading eight (or more) eyelets up on a small screwdriver and shoving them in?  I mean, with the hammer you've got to load the nail up, hold the loaded nail and tap the eyelet it in with the hammer, then (apparently) tap the nail back out with the hammer, and repeat.  What's wrong with shove, shove, shove, shove, done?

Maybe I'm missing something...  Undecided

Ed

My eyelets bend a misshape when I try to do that.
So I gave up on doing it that way!
(After about 50 eyelets went in the BIN!

Regards
Dave
Logged
nella
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 203

Location: Allentown, Pa.


« Reply #21 on: July 12, 2014, 06:21:51 PM »

I took a small bolt and put two nuts on it(used one as a lock nut) to set the depth and ground the threads off so the so the grommets would just slide on and put it in my drill press and press the grommets in the holes. The bolt cleans out the holes and seats the grommets well.   
Logged
Richard M
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 49

Location: Kingston, Tasmania.


WWW
« Reply #22 on: December 12, 2014, 02:46:50 AM »

I do eyelets and agree, what a pain.  That said, I know many beeks that use staples instead.   Use a staple gun to place staple just below/above hole as appropriate to where the wire will pull against it.

Staples is all I've used from Day 1. (Although admittedly Day 1 was only this time last year)
Logged

beehappy1950
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 166

Location: Waubun MN


« Reply #23 on: December 12, 2014, 09:11:56 PM »

I guess I dont have the patience to put in wires. I just do an x on the frame with fishing line . No islets , no splitting. Easy to cut out and repair. More power to you. Harold
Logged
ShaneJ
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 530


Location: Burpengary, Queensland, Australia.


« Reply #24 on: December 17, 2014, 06:53:00 AM »

I never use eyelets on new or used frames but I do have an eyelet tool made from a timber file handle and a bicycle spoke. It probably holds 20 or my eyelets.
Logged

Shane
Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.286 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page December 12, 2014, 07:48:19 AM