Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
April 18, 2014, 07:08:17 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  
Poll
Question: How do You monitor for varroa mites?  (Voting closed: October 13, 2009, 06:24:37 PM)
I don't monitor - 2 (12.5%)
Visually - I look for them on bees - 3 (18.8%)
Sticky board or oil trap under SBB - 7 (43.8%)
Sugar shake (correct term?) - 0 (0%)
Sampling drone brood - 2 (12.5%)
Other method - please explain - 1 (6.3%)
I don't have bees yet - 0 (0%)
I have bees, but I'm so new I don't have an answer - 1 (6.3%)
Total Voters: 16


Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How do You monitor for varroa?  (Read 1147 times)
David LaFerney
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 924


Location: Cookeville, TN - U.S.A.


WWW
« on: September 29, 2009, 06:24:37 PM »

I know that I've heard some other people here say that they only treat for mites when they have a problem, and I'm wondering how you know you have a problem.  I've never seen a mite on a bee this summer, but after building oil traps for SHB I saw  some varroa floating in the oil within only a couple of hours of changing the bottom boards for the traps.   This is not good, but I should have known. 

Anyway, how do YOU monitor for varroa mites?
Logged

"It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so." Samuel Clemens

Putting the "ape" in apiary since 2009.
AR Beekeeper
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 71

Location: Mountain View, Stone Co., Arkansas


« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2009, 10:15:34 AM »

I do a 24 hr natural mite fall count.  I do this for 3 days and then average to get the 24 hr average drop.
Logged
jdpro5010
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 290


Location: Leetonia, Ohio


« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2009, 02:03:24 PM »

Alcohol Wash
Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Online Online

Gender: Male
Posts: 13475


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2009, 08:44:52 PM »

I used to do sugar shakes, natural drop and open up some drone brood.  Now I just keep my eyes open and once in a while a drone gets opened up that actually has one, or I see one on the back of a bee.  I couldn't find any natural drop the last few times I looked and got none on the sugar shakes.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
David LaFerney
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 924


Location: Cookeville, TN - U.S.A.


WWW
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2009, 09:33:51 PM »

Alcohol Wash

I assume that means you put some bees in a container with some alcohol.  Why do you think this method is better for you to use than a non lethal one like a sugar shake?
Logged

"It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so." Samuel Clemens

Putting the "ape" in apiary since 2009.
jdpro5010
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 290


Location: Leetonia, Ohio


« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2009, 09:50:36 AM »

iT IS FASTER EASIER AND CLEANER THAN ETHER IN MY OPINION
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.608 seconds with 24 queries.

Google visited last this page March 14, 2014, 09:30:22 PM