Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
July 30, 2014, 09:27:43 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Brooding over the lack of Brood!  (Read 1122 times)
monkeyfish
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


Location: Rhode Island


« on: April 09, 2005, 03:04:55 PM »

(Bee) Seasons Greetings,

I've just inspected my single hive and reversed boxes and done some cleanup... bees are flying and collecting pollen.. all appears well except I see no brood??! Spotted the queen but apparently 'she aint' in the mood'.

I had a swarm last August and am not sure which queen flew the coop then.  Any ideas or advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,
~Scott
Logged
Horns Pure Honey
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 148

Location: Illinois


« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2005, 04:59:46 PM »

Well either she is getting back into the cycle slowly, she has no sperm left, or she is old and worn out. You could wait a while and see if she starts again but she already should have. Either they will start new queen cells or you could order a new queen. I myself would be looking for a new queen to be sent to me. bye Smiley
Logged

Ryan Horn
Robo
Technical
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6391


Location: Scenic Catskill Mountains - NY

Beekeep On!


WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2005, 06:12:16 PM »

You need to requeen as soon as possible.   You should have multiple frames of brood by this time.  At this point even if you do requeen, chances are your hive will peak after the spring flow.  Just hope you can save them and they build up strong and there is a good Fall flow.
Logged

"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison


Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13588


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2005, 10:07:49 AM »

I've seen bees that can't raise brood, put in a smaller box and then they can or boost them with some emerging brood and a frame of young bees shaken in and they can.  They have to have a certain amount bees to warm and control the environment around the brood.  I will ofte put a struggling cluster in a five frame brood box.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.411 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page June 27, 2014, 01:22:01 AM