Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
July 26, 2014, 01:45:39 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page

Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat(1)  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: am i to late  (Read 835 times)
fenux1255
New Bee

« on: July 31, 2009, 03:56:40 PM »

i have a couple hives and i just was asked today to remove a swarm from near by my property my question is that its july 31 is it to late for that
swarm to make it threw the winter and what can i do to save it so that i can add it to my collection of hives this is my first year so my 2 hives do not have a large supply of honey to donate to the new hive any suggestions
kathyp
Universal Bee

« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2009, 04:15:30 PM »

depends on some stuff.  how big is the swarm?  do you have the queen?  do you have at least some drawn foundation? 

if they are small, or you do not have a mated queen, the best bet is to combine them with another hive.  if it is a large swarm and you can feed them, they have a reasonable chance of making it.  you will have to feed them between now and weather change.

.....The greatest changes occur in their country without their cooperation. They are not even aware of precisely what has taken place. They suspect it; they have heard of the event by chance. More than that, they are unconcerned with the fortunes of their village, the safety of their streets, the fate of their church and its vestry. They think that such things have nothing to do with them, that they belong to a powerful stranger called “the government.” They enjoy these goods as tenants, without a sense of ownership, and never give a thought to how they might be improved.....

Alexis de Tocqueville
homer
House Bee

« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2009, 06:13:39 PM »