Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
September 19, 2014, 08:08:23 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat(1)  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: raising queens question  (Read 947 times)
jimmy
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 241

Location: Franklinton,La.


« on: July 29, 2009, 04:58:33 PM »

I shook some bees ,put a frame of honey,a frame of capped brood , a drawn empty frame ,a frame with 26 grafted cell cups and a deep feeder for sugar water. How important is it for the placement of the cell cup frame? Also moved that nuc 4 miles away. Thanks
Logged
homer
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 294

Location: Smithfield, Utah


« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2009, 12:07:20 AM »

I'd just put it in the middle.  However... I'm no expert at raising queens but I would think that you should have LOTS more bees for queen rearing than those that will fit in just a 5 frame nuc.  The more bees the better. 
Logged
RayMarler
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 508


Location: Marysville, CA


« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2009, 01:50:15 AM »

frame of nectar, frame of 26 cells, frame of sealed brood, empty frame, feeder. That's the order I'd use. Make sure you have good population of nurse bees and put in some pollen substitute as well like a pollen patty. Or take out that empty drawn frame and put in a frame that has good supply of pollen stores in it.
Logged

Sitting in the shade, drinking lemon aid.
Enjoying the breeze while counting the bees.
Robo
Technical
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6405


Location: Scenic Catskill Mountains - NY

Beekeep On!


WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2009, 06:24:41 AM »

If your only using a 5 frame nuc, then I'm with Ray on the order.  However, I agree with home that 5 frames is not enough.

http://forum.beemaster.com/index.php/topic,22291.msg171484.html#msg171484
Logged

"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison


Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13658


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2009, 09:00:24 AM »

You need a hive overflowing with bees.  Five frames will work, but only if there is pollen, honey, not too much brood for them to feed besides the queens and bees "packed down, shaken together and running over". (don't actually pack them down.  That's just a Biblical quote for the concept.)
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.254 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page August 28, 2014, 06:50:16 AM