Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
April 17, 2014, 06:43:32 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Computer out.  (Read 2120 times)
Shawn
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1214

Location: Lamar Colorado


« on: June 24, 2009, 08:26:24 AM »

COmputer turned off unexpectedly the other day and I think the power supply is out. Im trying to find someone that has an extra to make sure that is the problem. I can only check forums from work now  Cry
Logged
Pwrbait
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 14

Location: Rising Sun, Maryland, USA


« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2009, 07:04:25 PM »

If you have access to a multimeter you can verify it pretty quickly.  Unplug the connector to the hard drive or CD/DVD and engage the power button.  If you get a reading, then power supply good.  If not, before you replace the supply, open it up and check the fuse inside.  There is a small automotive type fuse in there to protect the supply.
Logged
Robo
Technical
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6343


Location: Scenic Catskill Mountains - NY

Beekeep On!


WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2009, 08:32:01 PM »

If it happened after a power outage,  it may need just a long reset.  It happens to my computers ever so often.   Pull the power cord out and let is sit for a while.  Might not be it, but worth a try.
Logged

"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison


Shawn
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1214

Location: Lamar Colorado


« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2009, 01:33:40 AM »

Well I had to remove the cpu fan to get the power supply out. When Putting the fan back on the fan fell off and could not get it back on. I went back to the original fan and broke off one of the nubs that the fan mounts to so now the fan will not stay on the cpu  Undecided. Im having a friend order a new supply, mount and fan. It just stinks that I cant look up the forums every day  Cry
Logged
Shawn
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1214

Location: Lamar Colorado


« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2009, 02:15:48 PM »

Well replaced the power supply and NOTHING! I tried everything possible and stil nothing. I had to order a new mother board and processor due to no one sells my socket of motehrboard again. Hopefully Ill be back up and running again.
Logged
Vibe
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 264


Location: Little Rock, AR.


« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2009, 02:31:55 PM »

Believe it or not a memory stick going bad will cause the same thing. Frustrating to find that our after EVERYTHING else gets changed, I know.
Logged

The opinion of 10,000 men is of no value if none of them know anything about the subject.
- Marcus Aurelius -
johnnybigfish
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2038


Location: Wichita Falls Tx


WWW
« Reply #6 on: August 04, 2009, 06:36:19 PM »

Well, Shawn....Its sure reassuring that I'm not the only person in the world with this kinda luck grin..At least you havent learned(yet) that youve lost everything in the computer!

your friend,
john
Logged

Shawn
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1214

Location: Lamar Colorado


« Reply #7 on: August 06, 2009, 10:08:49 PM »

IM BACK! Replaced the mother board, processor, and memory.  Cry
Logged
lakeman
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 242

Location: Abbeville, South Carolina


« Reply #8 on: August 07, 2009, 06:41:26 AM »

IM BACK! Replaced the mother board, processor, and memory.  Cry

You did not say, did that get you up and running?
Logged

I am my own biggest critic!
Shawn
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1214

Location: Lamar Colorado


« Reply #9 on: August 07, 2009, 06:55:46 PM »

yea its back up and running, after almost replacing everything. Forgot to say the mouse also had to be replaced. Not sure what happened but what ever it was really did a number on things.
Logged
lakeman
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 242

Location: Abbeville, South Carolina


« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2009, 06:29:49 AM »

yea its back up and running, after almost replacing everything. Forgot to say the mouse also had to be replaced. Not sure what happened but what ever it was really did a number on things.

Possibly a lightning strike, or power surge. I try to unplug my puter when lightning storms are in the local area.
Logged

I am my own biggest critic!
MustbeeNuts
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 552


Location: Holton, Michigan


WWW
« Reply #11 on: August 09, 2009, 07:41:02 AM »

look at the bright side, you have a new updated computer. probly faster! and can do more things.
Logged

Each new day brings decisions,  these are  new branches on the tree of life.
Shawn
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1214

Location: Lamar Colorado


« Reply #12 on: August 10, 2009, 05:58:56 PM »

Well if I new I would have had to replace most items I would have bought a different mother board. It seems a tad faster and cant complain.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.755 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page April 08, 2014, 02:18:37 AM
anything