Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
September 02, 2014, 10:17:03 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Three boxes of brood  (Read 674 times)
Pond Creek Farm
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 566


Location: Republic, MO


« on: July 06, 2009, 10:41:59 PM »

I am trying to break up the questions my son and I thought up during our first inspection of a big hive.  This is a hive of Russians that we started as a package April 1.  They were given a deep of fully drawn comb with several frames of honey and pollen to start (last year's assets from dead hives).  These bees have grown very well and are extremely gentle.  They hardly objected at our deep inspection. The hive has two mediums on top of two deeps (and is ready for a third super).  We wanted to harvest the honey as it was capped so that we could observe the differences between the honey as the year goes on.  When we went in today, we thought the first medium would have capped honey for us to harvest.  It did, on the outsides, but the box was a brood box.  It was constructed with honey on 1, 2 and 10 and the rest were in honey on top and drone brood everywhere else.  This drone brood was everywhere in the third box.  I am curious if I created this issue by giving them fully drawn PF-100 in the deeps (thus only small cell) or if some hives are so strong that they need ore than the two deeps as brood. Have I made a mistake by combining small cell plastic in the brood boxes with foundationless in the supers?  Is there anything I should do about it?  When winter comes do I leave on the two deeps and the medium?  I never expected to see more than two deeps in brood, and I have not read anything about what to do with such a hive.  The honey by the way is exquisite, light and clear.
Logged

Brian
kathyp
Universal Bee
*******
Online Online

Gender: Female
Posts: 15115


Location: boring, oregon


« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2009, 10:59:06 PM »

can't answer you about the small cell.  don't use it.  however, on your super, chances are they will hatch out that brood and backfill the space with honey.  even if they don't, as they reduce in size, you can take that super and harvest the honey later.  good thought about the small cell causing them to lay drone brood in the super.  i'll be interested to see how that question is answered.

as for a hive needing more than 2 deeps the answer is yes, sometimes.  i don't know how long your flow lasts or how your weather goes, but this late in the year i would probably let them lay in the honey supers rather than adding another deep.  for me, it would be to late.  days begin to shorten and flow diminishes.  brood rearing slows.  can you pull some honey frames from your 2 deeps and replace with drawn frames?  you can always add the honey frames back later.
Logged

.....The greatest changes occur in their country without their cooperation. They are not even aware of precisely what has taken place. They suspect it; they have heard of the event by chance. More than that, they are unconcerned with the fortunes of their village, the safety of their streets, the fate of their church and its vestry. They think that such things have nothing to do with them, that they belong to a powerful stranger called “the government.” They enjoy these goods as tenants, without a sense of ownership, and never give a thought to how they might be improved.....

 Alexis de Tocqueville
the kid
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 164

Location: mn


« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2009, 11:05:35 PM »

did the queen just move up to the 3rd box and not go back down to the 1st box ,, I mean has she been working 2 and 3 but not laying in the 1 st box Huh or is she laying in all three Huh?
Logged
Pond Creek Farm
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 566


Location: Republic, MO


« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2009, 11:28:25 PM »

Good point.  I went down as far as the second box.  I did not pull frames from this box but I could seen capped worker brood and open brood in the second box.  I was worried that I would accidentally kill the queen or anger too many bees.  No worker brood in the third box (medium) but worker brood present at least in the second deep.  I am ignorant of what is in the first deep.
Logged

Brian
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.188 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page June 20, 2014, 08:25:27 AM