Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
October 22, 2014, 01:46:02 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page

Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Transport Queen Cell  (Read 1361 times)
StephenSDH
New Bee

« on: June 25, 2009, 11:02:55 AM »

I would like to transport a couple capped queen cells from my hive to my fathers house 5 hours away.  I was thinking of putting a couple jugs of water in a cooler that are warmed up to 95 degrees and hope that regulates the temp.  Scrap off some queen cells and keep them upright for the ride.  Then install them once I get there.  I am new at all this so any suggestions would be appreciated.  I am wondering how they ship when you order capped queens by mail.

Thanks Again,  Steve
Robo
Technical
Administrator
Galactic Bee

Beekeep On!

« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2009, 11:07:59 AM »

I would transport them in a nuc and let the bees regulate the temperature/humidity.

"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison

Cheryl
House Bee

top bar beekeeper

« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2009, 12:13:17 PM »

I would transport them in a nuc and let the bees regulate the temperature/humidity.
My thoughts exactly. Even a "package" box with a bunch of nurse bees -- Like Robo said, let the bees do it. They know best.

We are what we repeatedly do.
Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit.

~ Aristotle
StephenSDH
New Bee

« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2009, 12:49:27 PM »

Its a good thing, but a bad thing.  All my equipment (and my only nuc which a buddy has because he wanted to keep bees in the city undercover) has bees in it right now.  I will try rigging something up like you guys said and take a frame with bees on it.

Thanks, Steve
kathyp
Universal Bee