Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: fun with a bee at a local bbq  (Read 1472 times)

Offline riverrat

• House Bee
fun with a bee at a local bbq
« on: June 08, 2009, 06:04:33 PM »
I had just got done doing a cutout and must of had the scent of honey on my shirt (yes Iddee sometimes people will wear a shirt doing cutouts) That evening I went up to a gathering in town at the local cafe that was outdoors with free food. I was setting in the shade when a bee landed on my shirt. I let her crawl onto my hand where she sat and groomed herself for about 15 minutes from head to toe. After which she crawled around on my hand content as can bee for an hour or so while I studied her. her wings were tattered and one antenna partially gone an old worn out bee for sure. I imagine it was a bee that was left from the cutout that was still in the truck. The kids that was in attendance was fascinated by the bee that wasn't stinging me. It gave me a chance to educate a few of the young kids at the BBQ on bees . any how it was a fun and exciting experience. I got more out that than I did the BBQ itself. :)
never take the top off a hive on a day that you wouldn't want the roof taken off your house

Offline RickeyENC

• New Bee
Re: fun with a bee at a local bbq
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2009, 06:13:29 PM »
Great story :)

Offline Rebel Rose Apiary

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2009, 07:45:51 PM »
That is great! I like it when something unusual happens and it gets the public interested! Especially when it is the kids! Lots and lots of questions though.

Brenda

Offline G3farms

• Queen Bee
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2009, 11:17:37 PM »