Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
July 31, 2014, 05:54:24 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Q on how to get my TBH populated from Nuc  (Read 906 times)
Utah
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 36

Location: Utah


« on: June 04, 2009, 05:02:09 PM »

This may have been recently asked but I need some new advice anyway.

I have two - 5 frame nuc boxes stacked vertically and they are almost full with no more boxes to put them into except my top bar hive I built after Bush's design (thanks for the info M.). I want to populate this top bar hive and have not had success with new packages or swarms.

Anyway, I cut a slot in the bottom of the bottom nuc that is about 3/4 inches wide and about 10 inches long. I also cut out a similar slot in one of the top bars and set the nuc on top of that aligning the two open slots. It is an odd looking combination, but that is what I did thinking I could coax the bees down into the large top bar hive.

So far, only a few bees are ever seen going down into the tbh. I closed one of the nuc entrances and I am considering closing the other and forcing them to go out down through the tbh.

Is this ok? any ideas whether the bees will get too hot or just leave or never build down in the tbh?

Any and all comments are appreciated - expecially photos that could help.
 
Logged

Utah
tshnc01
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 134


Location: Orange County, NC


WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2009, 07:28:09 PM »

Hi Utah,

I asked a similar question a couple of months ago (I wanted to make splits from my Lang hives into TBHs).  The advice I got was to cut out the brood from the Lang frames and rubber band them onto my top bars.  Aside from being a bit messy, it worked out very well.  The bees will bond the cut out frame to the top bar with a few days and chew away the rubber bands over time.

...Tim
Logged

Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13588


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2009, 02:17:23 PM »

Make some frames.  Do a cutout.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.104 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page July 25, 2014, 12:26:48 AM