Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
September 16, 2014, 07:51:38 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here

Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: drowning  (Read 1064 times)
doug
New Bee

« on: May 20, 2009, 10:13:57 PM »

huh     I'm new at this  my first year of beekeeping  everything has been going fine until....  it's been raining for 3 days now, some of my Italian bees will not go inside the hive  they are hanging out front  and drowning!   there is plenty of room inside  I added a shallow super so there is no reason for them to be out,   I see no signs of pest, disease, bugs , etc.
my carnolian bees are fine they are all inside, any advice would be appreciated.
lotsobees
House Bee

« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2009, 10:26:47 PM »

It's normal for a few stragglers that are at their life's end to not make it in the cold and wet and go belly up in those conditions.

--John Schwartz
Psalm 119 - "How sweet are Your words to my taste, Sweeter than honey to my mouth!"
Bee Happy
Super Bee

that's me - setting a phoenix free

« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2009, 11:16:50 PM »

I've noticed this with bees,not the drowning, but that the occasional dimwitted ones have no evolutionary effect on the apian species unless the whole hive is stupid. - the queen still can pass her genes with the "once in a while an idiot will come from an egg" tag.

be happy and make others happy.
Rex
House Bee

« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2009, 11:33:46 PM »

When it rains here for any period of time, I can usually count on a handful of drowned bees on the doorstep of the hives.  Not sure why they don't make it inside.
indypartridge
Queen Bee

« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2009, 08:01:08 AM »