Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
November 27, 2014, 02:51:58 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE

Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Clogged Entrance to the hive  (Read 691 times)
The Bix
House Bee

« on: May 05, 2009, 04:54:27 PM »

Hi all,

I'm new to beekeeping so keep that in mind.  The bee package was installed a week ago and the colony's progress was slowed by unseasonably cold weather...but things are looking up now, weather-wise and the bees appear to be busy.  The entrance reducer is in place doing its job of restricting the flow in and out of the hive.  But, there always seems to be a bee just inside the entrance further blocking the bee traffic.  I watched a bee with her pollen sacks jammed full trying to get into the hive and the traffic jam prevented her getting inside...took at least four attempts for her to get in that I saw...perhaps more.  Is this normal, something to be concerned about?  Thanks in advance for your help.

--John
SgtMaj
Queen Bee

« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2009, 05:42:39 PM »

If you're into the spring flow you should open up the entrance more.  The entrance reducer is to reduce the space the bees have to guard, but during the spring flow there are less of a threat for them to guard against.  It is not unusual to even put an upper entrance on as well during the flow... of course, a new package that's not built up probably won't need that yet.
buzzbee
Ken
Administrator
Galactic Bee

« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2009, 06:21:07 PM »