Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
July 24, 2014, 10:04:44 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: bees won't cooperate  (Read 402 times)
kdm
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 98

Location: southern Illinois


« on: May 03, 2009, 10:03:01 AM »

  I have had excessive swarming this year due to neglect. I have put some in a 5&3/4 IN super with a queen excluder & supers. I also got two swarms  on same day. so i decided to use them with the Taylor method for a two swarm hive.One was a small, about 2 Lb, The other a nice prime swarm. The large one all drifted over to the small side except a hand full. In the mean time i got another swarm. they were about 25 ft up on a 3 inch limb so i got a frame of brood & threw a line over the limb & pulled the brood up to the swarm. It started raining and getting cooler only about 3/4 of them would get on the frame of brood So i  took what i could get & added them to the weak side.
Logged
BeeHopper
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1122

Location: Hopelessly Lost


« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2009, 11:22:38 AM »

Bees don't "Cooperate", they "Tolerate" , sometimes you can "Trick" them  Smiley
Logged
kdm
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 98

Location: southern Illinois


« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2009, 05:46:48 PM »

 AMEN BeeHopper
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.261 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page July 21, 2014, 10:21:52 AM