Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
July 24, 2014, 01:53:50 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How much room for a #3 package  (Read 750 times)
WayneW
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 80


Location: Luzerne County, PA


« on: April 29, 2009, 11:57:06 AM »

Picking up my 1st package next friday and I was wondering how much room to give them. I will be using Med 10 frame boxes. Is one enough.....or should i start with 2 Mediums. huh
Logged

A beekeeper is not what i am, it's what i aspire to become.
oldenglish
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 272

Location: Snohomish, WA. USA


WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2009, 12:25:29 PM »

As I understand it two mediums = 1 deep, I think you may be able to start them out in 1 medium but they are going to fill it up pretty quick and could swarm early if you dont add the second soon enough.
Logged

Natalie
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 1478

Location: Weymouth, Massachusetts


« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2009, 12:35:12 PM »

I started with one medium because thats what I was told to do and I will be adding the next one when they have 75-80 percent of the frames filled out in this one.
Logged
Two Bees
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 614


Location: Central NC


« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2009, 02:50:00 PM »

I think 3 mediums = 2 deeps. 

Starting with 1 or 2, I don't think really matters.  Just keep a watch on them and add that second (or third) medium box when 7-8 frames have been drawn.
Logged

"Don't know what I'd do without that boy......but I'm sure willin' to give it a try!"
J.D. Clampett commenting about Jethro Bodine.
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13563


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2009, 07:47:53 PM »

One medium is more than enough.  I've often put packages in five frame medium nucs with foundationless or bare foundation.  They need an eight frame box with drawn comb.  A ten frame box is plenty big.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
WayneW
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 80


Location: Luzerne County, PA


« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2009, 08:46:53 AM »

They need an eight frame box with drawn comb.  a ten frame box is plenty big.

Would 1" starter strips of wax foundation be ok? Or would they be more likely to abscond. I have 10 frames with wax coated plastic foundation, but would prefer just using starter strips. Of course i dont want to lose my bees either  cool
Logged

A beekeeper is not what i am, it's what i aspire to become.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 4.775 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page July 05, 2014, 05:19:27 PM
anything