Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
October 21, 2014, 05:57:52 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: split and drift?  (Read 621 times)
tlynn
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 529

Location: Tampa Bay, Florida


« on: April 28, 2009, 04:18:36 PM »

I am splitting 1 hive into 3 today and the new hives will be next to the donor.  Is there a way to keep all the field bees from drifting back to the original hive?
« Last Edit: April 28, 2009, 07:56:31 PM by tlynn » Logged
fermentedhiker
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 514


Location: Midcoast Maine


« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2009, 05:33:07 PM »

I might be inclined to put the split with the old queen in the farthest position and the weaker of the two remaining splits(if you're not able to get them perfectly even) in the old location.  If it looks really lopsided after a few days you could always swap hive locations to even it back out.
Logged

Human beings, who are almost unique in having the ability to learn from the experience of others, are also remarkable for their apparent disinclination to do so.
--Douglas Adams
trapperbob
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 197


Location: Lincoln,Ne


« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2009, 05:36:20 PM »

I just put the splits where I want them  and let time sort it out and if they seem to be a little low on bees later I grab a frame of soon to emerge brood with house bees still attached and  put them in. I know this seems to be a little odd since you always hear they will fight each other without going through some elaborate combining procedure but this has not been my experiance they stay strong and in the spring the splits always seem to be my strongest hives. I'm sure it confuses the bees for a bit but maybe that is why it works.
Logged
doak
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1788

Location: Central Ga. 35 miles north of Macon


« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2009, 08:50:40 PM »

Along with what else you put in the split. make sure you have One full frame of capped brood,
These will become house bees soon. Then, making sure the queen is not on the frames you shake, a frame or two of extra bees in the split. The house bees on these frames will not fly back.
Then the rest should be history.doak
Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13748


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2009, 10:06:42 PM »

Just shake extra bees in to make up for the drift.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.157 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page October 05, 2014, 07:37:31 AM