Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
August 01, 2014, 06:28:00 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Foundationless brood frames  (Read 1290 times)
nella
House Bee
**
Online Online

Posts: 190

Location: Allentown, Pa.


« on: April 29, 2009, 09:13:39 AM »

Should you put  horizontal wire in the brood frames if you don't use foundation?
  Thanks  Nella
Logged
Big John
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 114


Location: Greenup Co., Kentucky


« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2009, 10:30:39 AM »

I use all foundation less frames and wire all my frames horizontal, it helps the comb be more stable while new, the bees will incorporate the wire into the comb and it will not be a problem.
Logged

"Semper Fi"
Hethen57
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 420


Location: Coeur d'Alene, Idaho


« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2009, 01:18:09 PM »

Just curious...and without opening a big debate on the merits, is the decision to go foundationless for convenience/to save money, or is it a modified "natural bee-top bar hive" philosophy?
Logged

-Mike
Robo
Technical
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6391


Location: Scenic Catskill Mountains - NY

Beekeep On!


WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2009, 01:46:49 PM »

Just curious...and without opening a big debate on the merits, is the decision to go foundationless for convenience/to save money, or is it a modified "natural bee-top bar hive" philosophy?

It is to allow a "more natural" approach


I wire all by foundationless frames as well.
Logged

"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison


Hethen57
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 420


Location: Coeur d'Alene, Idaho


« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2009, 02:02:20 PM »

When you wire them, are they basically wired as if you were going to embed some wax foundation?
Logged

-Mike
Robo
Technical
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6391


Location: Scenic Catskill Mountains - NY

Beekeep On!


WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2009, 03:00:49 PM »

When you wire them, are they basically wired as if you were going to embed some wax foundation?

That is how I do it,  but you could probably get away with less wires if you wanted.   The top wire is the most critical.  Once they build the comb around the first wire,  the chance of comb failure is substantially reduce.
Logged

"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison


Hethen57
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 420


Location: Coeur d'Alene, Idaho


« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2009, 04:45:30 PM »

I'd be interested in trying it.  I was doing a personal test between Plasticel and medium wax in my brood boxes and my first observations were that the bees built out the wax quicker.  I'd like to try going foundationless in a hive sometime and see how they do.
Logged

-Mike
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13588


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2009, 07:46:37 PM »

>Should you put  horizontal wire in the brood frames if you don't use foundation?

http://www.bushfarms.com/beesfoundationless.htm#dowire
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.483 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page July 24, 2014, 05:48:20 PM