Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
April 17, 2014, 11:37:58 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: switching from qeenless to queenright  (Read 2180 times)
gmcharlie
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 244


Location: Southern IL


« on: March 08, 2009, 09:56:41 AM »

Thanks to ROBO  TWT and Michael   for all the comments and help so far............ going to try queens myself this year as well as some purchesed.......   I  have one more question about useing the cloake board queen starter/ finisher.  I get the make it queen less  by  putting her in the bottom and such  and after the cells are capped  make them queen right again as  a finisher  (which I am not sure why not leave them queenless as they finish)    but my real question is when you make them queenright again do you need an excluder to keep the old queen from destroying the cells???   I read   some comments on another site about only virgin queens being on a hunt a estroy mission?    or do we keep her locked below?Huh
Logged
Robo
Technical
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6343


Location: Scenic Catskill Mountains - NY

Beekeep On!


WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2009, 02:24:11 PM »

The cloake board has a queen excluder built in.
Logged

"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison


Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13474


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2009, 03:55:32 PM »

>when you make them queenright again do you need an excluder to keep the old queen from destroying the cells??? 

She MIGHT not, but then again, her presence may stimulate the workes to.  I find it best to have an excluder.  Most of the ones for sale seem to have them built in as Robo says.  Mine does not and I put one a box below the FWOF.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
TwT
Senior Forum
Global Moderator
Galactic Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3384


Location: Walker, La.

Ted


« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2009, 06:04:06 PM »

yup I use a excluder.
Logged

THAT's ME TO THE LEFT JUST 5 YEARS FROM NOW!!!!!!!!

Never be afraid to try something new.
Amateurs built the ark,
Professionals built the Titanic
gmcharlie
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 244


Location: Southern IL


« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2009, 10:08:28 PM »

Thanks guys... I generaly hate excluders  but for a cpl weeks........    What is the point of makeing them queenright again instead of just splitting them off and leaving them with one of the new queens?
Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13474


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2009, 06:25:03 PM »

>What is the point of makeing them queenright again instead of just splitting them off and leaving them with one of the new queens?

Morale.  A cell builder will maintain morale if they are only queenless a short time.  You can then use the same cell builder again and again.  If you leave them queenless, they are only good for one shot and you really hurt the production of that hive.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
gmcharlie
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 244


Location: Southern IL


« Reply #6 on: March 10, 2009, 10:17:10 AM »

understood about the moral  thing if your doing multiple batches......   my thought was to use those same bees as basis for the breeding nucs....  IE  they get to go with the new queens.   with that plan I didn't see the point in makeing them queenright,  then splitting them off for the breeders again...  seemed to me like that would be confusing.....  first a queen then not....  then a new one....

I was (still am until I get a better idea)  on takeing 2 frames of honey and brood comb(empty)  and one of the new queens  from the hive I used as a finisher....  makeing 5-10 breeder nucs with the new queens and a 2 frames of bees from that same hive.

Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13474


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2009, 09:54:56 PM »

The population also dwindles while they are queenless.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
gmcharlie
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 244


Location: Southern IL


« Reply #8 on: March 11, 2009, 12:01:44 PM »

is that just the normal die off thats not replaced?  or more than is normal??
Logged
TwT
Senior Forum
Global Moderator
Galactic Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3384


Location: Walker, La.

Ted


« Reply #9 on: March 11, 2009, 10:12:32 PM »

ok think of this in the spring time with a bee hive, if a queen can lay 1500-2500 eggs a day then that means you could lose 1500-2500 a day when they reach that age, think of it that way, with nothing to replace it instantly then that's your lose rate per day, they can go down quick.
Logged

THAT's ME TO THE LEFT JUST 5 YEARS FROM NOW!!!!!!!!

Never be afraid to try something new.
Amateurs built the ark,
Professionals built the Titanic
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13474


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #10 on: March 12, 2009, 06:30:09 PM »

>is that just the normal die off thats not replaced?  or more than is normal??

Probably a little of both the normal die off and some drifting to queenright hives.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
gmcharlie
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 244


Location: Southern IL


« Reply #11 on: March 14, 2009, 04:40:40 PM »

understood..   I realize the normal loss for that time period is unavoidable......  I assume the old queen is still laying in her particular box. so its still growing.   I was struggling on the reasons to make them queenright when I am going to split them all up again when the queens are ready anyway.   my goal  (on this hive)  is a very rapid split,   with 6-8 nucs started from it and the new queens they were raising.  The old quenn was is such a profilic layer,  I intend to knok her back to a cpl of frames of brood and teh field bees.


Thanks guys,  your comments make a lot of sense....   this queen raising seems like its going to be fun.

Charlie
Logged
bugleman
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 106


Location: Oregon, Aloha, Willamette Valley


« Reply #12 on: May 01, 2009, 01:30:01 AM »

Lurk....Lurk....Lurk!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.149 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page March 26, 2014, 04:03:58 PM
anything