Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
July 22, 2014, 02:37:43 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: starter strips ?  (Read 5583 times)
doak
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1788

Location: Central Ga. 35 miles north of Macon


« Reply #20 on: April 20, 2009, 11:02:00 PM »

That is why I prefer wedge top bars.
I'll "when I start" just take the wedge out, cut foundation in one inch strips and install the same way I do full foundation. What's wrong with this method? or did I miss something? :)doak
Logged
Robo
Technical
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6391


Location: Scenic Catskill Mountains - NY

Beekeep On!


WWW
« Reply #21 on: April 21, 2009, 05:54:00 AM »

along these lines - if you do a wax (suggestion) strip - will the bees convert to the smallest cell as they go?

Not sure what you mean by smallest cell,  but regardless what you use for a guide they will build the size cells they see fit.   They do not take whatever we give them and just duplicate it for the whole frame.   The cells on the starter strip will be drawn out to whatever size is on the foundation, but once they start building down from the strip, they will adjust the cell size to their need.  If they are large cell bees, they won't go right to ~4.9 but will do an intermediate size as they regress.
Logged

"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison


Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13563


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #22 on: April 21, 2009, 07:42:24 PM »

>along these lines - if you do a wax (suggestion) strip - will the bees convert to the smallest cell as they go?

It matters not whether you use wax or wood or whatever they will build the size cells they want.

>- no idea what (cell) size suggestion sheet I put up for them but just wondering if they will default to their preferred size after

You mean the rest of the comb?  Yes, they will adjust the size to what they want after they build the strip.

>That is why I prefer wedge top bars.
I'll "when I start" just take the wedge out, cut foundation in one inch strips and install the same way I do full foundation. What's wrong with this method?

Nothing except that the wax is more fragile and more likely to fall out and needs to be replaced when the comb is being replaced.  If you turned the wedge sideways and glued it in you'd never have to mess with it again.  Smiley
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Eshu
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 108

Location: Ilfeld, NM


« Reply #23 on: May 13, 2009, 02:20:18 PM »

Do the starter strips need to run the full length of the top bar I planed on useing paint sticks and there about 4 in short

They don't need to span the entire width, but I do.  I use paint stir sticks split in half lengthwise with another third of a stick to span the entire frame.  I score the sticks lengthwise using a utility knife and a metal ruler.  If you use a sharp knife they break cleanly.  It is somewhat tedious, but I don't do a lot.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.264 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page June 26, 2014, 09:10:15 PM
anything