Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
November 26, 2014, 12:37:20 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Making a queen cell bar frame, medium depth  (Read 2918 times)
twb
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 276


Location: Southwest Michigan


« on: December 30, 2008, 07:37:55 PM »

I plan to make a dozen or so queens this season and I am transitioning to all mediums.  Should I add a cell bar about half way down a medium frame or would it be fine to simply attach the queen cells to the underside of the top bar?  And, should I graft twice as many as I want in case they don't all "take"?
Logged

"Pleasant words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones."  Proverbs 16:24

Sincerely,
TWB
Brian D. Bray
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7369


Location: Anacortes, WA 98221

I really look like this, just ask Cindi.


WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2008, 09:09:38 PM »

I plan to make a dozen or so queens this season and I am transitioning to all mediums.  Should I add a cell bar about half way down a medium frame or would it be fine to simply attach the queen cells to the underside of the top bar?  And, should I graft twice as many as I want in case they don't all "take"?

Yes to all questions.  If you haven't grafted before I'd only expect maybe and 25% success rate, unless you're one of those that bathe in dumb luck.
Logged

Life is a school.  What have you learned?   Brian      The greatest danger to our society is apathy, vote in every election!
justgojumpit
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 216


Location: North Salem, NY


« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2008, 09:21:57 PM »

I made a frame with a bar halfway down, then put cell cups on the underside of the top bar and the mid-way bar.  That was in a deep though.  I think it would work fine in a medium too.  Just need to check on the length of the queen cells and make sure that leaves enough room!

You may also want to look into the hopkins method... I'll be using that next year because it just seems so simple and effective!

justgojumpit
Logged

Keeper of bees and builder of custom beekeeping equipment.
jsmob
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 114


Location: Sacramento, Ca


« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2008, 09:35:47 PM »

 I am going to be raising queens this year for the first time. I have been told to start at least twice as many queens as you need. Also I have been told that using the Jenter Queen System will increase your chances. No grafting, just moving plugs.
Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13903


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2008, 05:59:44 AM »

I make a double row.  One at the top and one that splits the space for the cells top and bottom. I only have a picture of the Jenter version but I also have these for standard cell cups: http://www.bushfarms.com/images/MissedQueenCell.JPG
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
twb
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 276


Location: Southwest Michigan


« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2008, 02:49:23 PM »

Thanks all.  I will make one before the day is over(hopefully).
Logged

"Pleasant words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones."  Proverbs 16:24

Sincerely,
TWB
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.206 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page November 13, 2014, 10:35:47 AM