Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
July 31, 2014, 10:46:51 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Worked my bees today  (Read 1021 times)
mtman1849
Assistant Social Director
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 200

Location: Lexington, NC


« on: September 20, 2008, 01:22:15 PM »

Today I worked my bees installed new IPM screened bottom boards and top feeders I also have screen inner covers that I did not put on because of the top feeders didn't see any need for them until I take the top feeder off.  I also leaned not to put any of those spacers in that allow a entrance in the middle of the hive they violate bee space and guess what I had a mess of bur comb and cross comb.  The two smaller hive will have to be fed now until they want take anymore they are a little low on stores.   The only thing I have left to do today is mix feed with fumigilan-b but I will wait until they settle a little before I do that.  Here are some pictures my wife took while I was working, I really feel bad because one of the girls got in her hair and she got stung while I was trying to find her and get her out.

   I hate have staples they are a pain I think I am going to start using straps.






  Finally got to the bottom





  putting the feeder on first hive



  Working on second hive



  working on third hive

  all back together

shot down the flight line

I also learned that these stands that I built for three hive will work a lot better if I only put two hives on them that way I can use the space in between for putting hive parts of the hive I am working on.
Logged


<img src="[url]http://banners.wunderground.com/weathersticker/miniStates/language/www/US/NC/Southmont.gif
" border=0
alt="Click for Southmont, North Carolina Forecast" height=100 width=150>[/url]
kathyp
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 15031


Location: boring, oregon


« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2008, 02:38:29 PM »

you probably don't need staples or straps unless you are moving the hives.  bricks on top will do for wind.  straps are good for keeping critters from getting in the top.
Logged

.....The greatest changes occur in their country without their cooperation. They are not even aware of precisely what has taken place. They suspect it; they have heard of the event by chance. More than that, they are unconcerned with the fortunes of their village, the safety of their streets, the fate of their church and its vestry. They think that such things have nothing to do with them, that they belong to a powerful stranger called “the government.” They enjoy these goods as tenants, without a sense of ownership, and never give a thought to how they might be improved.....

 Alexis de Tocqueville
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13588


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2008, 08:41:22 PM »

I've thought of using straps so I don't have to lift bricks, but I doubt they would be worthwhile.  They are too much trouble to get on and off.  I have stapled bottoms on from time to time when moving them, but pull them off the next time I need to get to the bottom.  I don't recommend having the bottom stapled to the box as you can't get to the bottom to clean it.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
rdy-b
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2210


Location: clayton ca


« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2008, 08:45:34 PM »

Nice pics-where did you get that cool hive stand- Smiley cheesy cool RDY-B
Logged
mtman1849
Assistant Social Director
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 200

Location: Lexington, NC


« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2008, 09:38:19 PM »

I built it can send you the dimension if you want
Logged


<img src="[url]http://banners.wunderground.com/weathersticker/miniStates/language/www/US/NC/Southmont.gif
" border=0
alt="Click for Southmont, North Carolina Forecast" height=100 width=150>[/url]
Irwin
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2343


Location: Lakeside OR

howdy all


« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2008, 09:20:52 AM »

I built a stand for putting stuff on when I go into my hive. This spring I will do a split so I'll have two hive's grin
Logged

Fight organized crime!  Re-elect no one.
JP
The Swarm King
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 11668


Location: Metairie, Louisiana

I like doing cut-outs, but I love catching swarms!


WWW
« Reply #6 on: September 21, 2008, 11:11:10 AM »

you probably don't need staples or straps unless you are moving the hives.  bricks on top will do for wind.  straps are good for keeping critters from getting in the top.

I love the big staples on my bottom boards, makes life easy when moving hives. Looks like you got it going on mtmn, keep up the good work!


...JP
Logged

"Good friends are as sweet as honey" Winne the Pooh

My pictures can be viewed at http://picasaweb.google.com/pyxicephalus
and
http://picasaweb.google.com/112138792165178452970

My Youtube videos can be viewed here: http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=JPthebeeman&aq=f

My website JPthebeeman.com http://www.jpthebeeman.com/jpthebeeman/
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.647 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page Today at 12:14:06 AM