Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
August 20, 2014, 03:03:57 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: 1 2 3 4 [5]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Coates 5-Frame Nuc  (Read 30345 times)
Thershey
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 23

Location: Battle Ground, Washington. USA


« Reply #80 on: March 09, 2014, 10:47:27 AM »

Great plans, since I run all medium equipment I made a couple adjustments and built a set yesterday, thanks again Robo.

My intended use for these nucs is an intermediate step up from my 3/3 mating castle before going to a full 10 frame body (medium). Question for the pros... Is a 5 frame medium Nuc large enough to also use as a swarm trap?
Logged
Moots
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1462


Location: Gonzales LA (Southeastern Louisiana)


« Reply #81 on: March 09, 2014, 10:55:56 AM »

Question for the pros... Is a 5 frame medium Nuc large enough to also use as a swarm trap?

I'm certainly far from a "pro", but will give my 2 cents anyway!  grin

I have some 6 frame mediums that I've caught a couple swarms in, and know people that run nothing but 5 frame mediums as their swarm traps and do just fine with them.  So...Yes they will work fine!  Although I suspect they are probably not the optimal size.  There's a lot of debate and discussion on what is optimal, but that being said, I think most would agree that it's probably larger than a 5 frame medium.
Logged

"We must reject the idea that every time a law’s broken, society is guilty rather than the lawbreaker. It is time to restore the American precept that each individual is accountable for his actions."
                                                                                                                   - Ronald Reagan
Robo
Technical
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6403


Location: Scenic Catskill Mountains - NY

Beekeep On!


WWW
« Reply #82 on: March 09, 2014, 12:25:35 PM »

Is a 5 frame medium Nuc large enough to also use as a swarm trap?


Any size trap is better than no trap.  From my experience, I think 5 frame deeps are too small.  
http://beevac.com/swarm-traps/
Logged

"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison


Thershey
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 23

Location: Battle Ground, Washington. USA


« Reply #83 on: March 09, 2014, 02:30:36 PM »

Is a 5 frame medium Nuc large enough to also use as a swarm trap?


Any size trap is better than no trap.  From my experience, I think 5 frame deeps are too small.  
http://beevac.com/swarm-traps/


Agreed, anything is probably better than nothing but that 20/30 L test you ran is indeed interesting.  Looks like natural selection definitely leans towards the larger home.  Thanks again for being so generous with the plans and your time.
Logged
sc-bee
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1883


Location: Edgefield, SC


« Reply #84 on: April 22, 2014, 07:58:03 PM »

A friend built 4 coates nucs and gave me two. I am  grin Thanks for the plans!
Logged

John 3:16
Kevin Bentley
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 38


Location: Fort Valley, GA


« Reply #85 on: May 24, 2014, 12:55:25 PM »

Made 4.  Thanks!
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 4 [5]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.273 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page August 17, 2014, 08:30:35 PM