Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
October 26, 2014, 01:24:15 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Nuc Question  (Read 837 times)
jgarzasr
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 107

Location: Michigan


« on: June 25, 2008, 08:38:16 AM »

I started a NUC a few weeks ago by pulling a couple frames of bees from one of my hives.  I was going to add a queen - but had to use it for another one of my established hives.  Anyway - they were able to raise a queen - as I opened it up yesterday and found one in the hive.  However - I didn't see any eggs - so I would assume she is a virgin Queen.

Question - what can I do with this NUC - there is only about a frame of bees.  However they are bringing in nectar and pollen.  Can I shake off some bees from one of my other hives?  and how would I introduce?  I would really like to use this NUC/Hive to start another TBH - is there an easy way to transfer over the bees?  I guess any info you can provide to steer me in the right direction - that way I can use this Queen and have another hive.  Thanks!
Logged
sean
Field Bee
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 508

Location: jamaica


« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2008, 09:09:01 AM »

you can shake bees off frames from another hive there isnt usually a problem doing that. be careful that you dont have the queen from the other hive on it
Logged
Robo
Technical
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6412


Location: Scenic Catskill Mountains - NY

Beekeep On!


WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2008, 10:00:34 AM »

I boost nucs by adding frames of capped brood.  This would probably work better than shaking in strange bees since you have a virgin queen.
Logged

"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison


JP
The Swarm King
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 11689


Location: Metairie, Louisiana

I like doing cut-outs, but I love catching swarms!


WWW
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2008, 10:04:27 AM »

I boost nucs by adding frames of capped brood.  This would probably work better than shaking in strange bees since you have a virgin queen.


I'm with Rob, you get extra bees, emerging bees to boost the population and nurse bees, its a win win and high acceptance rate from the nuc.


...JP
Logged

"Good friends are as sweet as honey" Winne the Pooh

My pictures can be viewed at http://picasaweb.google.com/pyxicephalus
and
http://picasaweb.google.com/112138792165178452970

My Youtube videos can be viewed here: http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=JPthebeeman&aq=f

My website JPthebeeman.com http://www.jpthebeeman.com/jpthebeeman/
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13759


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2008, 10:16:26 PM »

Emerging brood is hard to beat as long as they have enough bees to keep it warm.  Emerging brood with the attached bees (and no queen) would probably be the best.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 1.274 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page October 21, 2014, 11:15:44 PM
anything