ElDoBill
House Bee

Offline
Gender: 
Posts: 70
Location: El Dorado, California
|
 |
« on: April 15, 2008, 05:04:22 PM » |
|
Hey folks, I keep getting a wav file playing whenever I go to the home page of this site. Any one else?? It's an ad for billing or accepting cell phone invoices or something like that I don't listen carefully because it is irriitating.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Jacmar
New Bee
Offline
Gender: 
Posts: 44
Location: Ottawa,Canada
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2008, 05:14:54 PM » |
|
All is silent from my end.
Jack
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
"The key to life is to Die Young at a very Old Age"
|
|
|
|
buzzbee
|
 |
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2008, 05:57:57 PM » |
|
I have never received a wav file when entering this site either.You may want to scan your system with adaware 2007 or spybot search and destroy. Sounds like you have an infection of some type!
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
ElDoBill
House Bee

Offline
Gender: 
Posts: 70
Location: El Dorado, California
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2008, 06:20:02 PM » |
|
Buzz, I have run scans with spybot, adaware and trendmicro, nothing found. It only happens on this site and only when I access the home page. I am doing a search for *.wav* to see if anything unusual shows up.
Thanks,
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Romahawk
House Bee

Offline
Posts: 197
Location: Lee Center, NY
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2008, 06:21:47 PM » |
|
I hear nothing but absolute silence when I click on the home page.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Never let your education interfere with your learning" --Samuel Clemens
|
|
|
|
annette
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2008, 07:12:33 PM » |
|
Believe it or not, I just shut the volume off my computer because this has been happening to me also for the past few days and is so annoying. Same thing. If I click the back or forward arrow then it stops for a while.
Help please with this problem!!! Driving me crazy. But not just on home page, on all the postings as well.
Thanks Annette
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
beemaster
Site Founder
Administrator
Galactic Bee
     
Offline
Gender: 
Posts: 5964
Location: Manchester, NJ
It is my pleasure to bring the forums to you.
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2008, 03:04:35 AM » |
|
forgive me, I don't have my glasses on, any errors is totally that! I only have one wav file attached to ANY of my 140+ webpages, it is the THEME SONG from HALLOWEEN the MOVIE and only on my halloween page, which I haven't used in many years. Nopopups, embedded stuff or any waves of any kind should EVER appear when going to beemaster.com pages, ever - plain and simple, I promise  What would/could cause such a thing is beyond me - I don't trust dialup sites like Netzero or AOL and any of the others, they cram your Internet Connection with ad sponsored BS, most often noticed when searching things like CRUISES, VACATIONS, HOTELS and other hot topics - anything like that is beyond the control of ANY website, but check your Internet Explorer settings (or whatever Browser) to see if the security and popup blockers, etc., are all set where they should be set. good luck and I'm sure it must be a local issue - no doubt you'll find it and resolve it Bill, good luck.
|
|
|
|
« Last Edit: April 16, 2008, 11:21:10 AM by beemaster »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
ElDoBill
House Bee

Offline
Gender: 
Posts: 70
Location: El Dorado, California
|
 |
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2008, 08:11:05 AM » |
|
The "wav" file or what ever it is is a commercial directed to ISPs or web administrators for a site called "myinternet.com" apparently they collect fees for those commercial sites that don't want to collect their own. I didn't get the entire commercial but that is the gist. Sound familiar to anyone?
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
annette
|
 |
« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2008, 11:52:56 AM » |
|
John
Thank you for your response. My computer guy will come up this week and check it all out for me. I have comcast. Anyway, I will let you know what he says. I hope it is just an issue with my computer.
Have a great day Annette
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
buzzbee
|
 |
« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2008, 07:01:21 PM » |
|
Annette, Are you using comcasts Macafee internet security suite? It is offered free to comcast customers. If not,you should install it to help prevent this stuff.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
annette
|
 |
« Reply #10 on: April 16, 2008, 09:57:50 PM » |
|
Annette, Are you using comcasts Macafee internet security suite? It is offered free to comcast customers. If not,you should install it to help prevent this stuff.
I truly do not know as my computer guy said I was safe. He is coming up this week, so we will see what is happening. I will check to see if I have this protection. Meanwhile I am just keeping the volume off. Thanks Annette
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Robo
Technical
Administrator
Galactic Bee
     
Offline
Gender: 
Posts: 6176
Location: Scenic Catskill Mountains - NY
Beekeep On!
|
 |
« Reply #11 on: April 18, 2008, 07:28:41 PM » |
|
I got an offline report of someone seeing "transferring data from aa.voice2page.com" while the main page was loading. I have went through the forum code and it is clean. It seems like it is something that hijacks one's browser and is based upon viewing habits, so only shows up on certain sites you visit and not all of them. I'm sorry I can not provide more help, but it is not an issue with the forum, but your browser. Here is a link that explains it a little bit, and may provide some help. http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=36
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
ElDoBill
House Bee

Offline
Gender: 
Posts: 70
Location: El Dorado, California
|
 |
« Reply #12 on: April 18, 2008, 07:59:16 PM » |
|
Thanks Robo, I came to the same conclusion since the two forum members being affected are geographically within 10 miles and are using the same broadband access provider. I think it is one step above the individual machines at the provider level. The fact that it was hijacked from this forum is due to the frequency with which we both access the site.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
ElDoBill
House Bee

Offline
Gender: 
Posts: 70
Location: El Dorado, California
|
 |
« Reply #13 on: April 18, 2008, 07:59:49 PM » |
|
BTW it seems to have been corrected.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
reinbeau
|
 |
« Reply #14 on: April 20, 2008, 05:10:42 PM » |
|
I have to ask, Annette and EldoBill, are you using Internet Exploder?
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
 - Ann, A Gardening Beek - ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ 
|
|
|
|
annette
|
 |
« Reply #15 on: April 20, 2008, 05:22:33 PM » |
|
The problem is fixed here as well. Last evening and this morning, so far everything is silent. No more commercials. I hope it stays away.
Yes, I do use Internet Explorer
Annette
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
johnnybigfish
|
 |
« Reply #16 on: May 11, 2008, 04:48:30 PM » |
|
The only thing I hear when I turn on the forums is something like this......."Are you on that dang bee forum again?  "...."You spend more time with your bee friends than you do with me!!!",...."And its MOTHERS DAY!!!!!!"  your friend, john
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
ElDoBill
House Bee

Offline
Gender: 
Posts: 70
Location: El Dorado, California
|
 |
« Reply #17 on: May 16, 2008, 12:31:46 PM » |
|
Hi Ann, Yes we both are using IE 7.0. Our problem appers to have been a problem with the local comcast ISP site. It has been cleared by them. Everything works fine now. I think the link was "hijacked" by someone advertising their web site.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|