Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
September 22, 2014, 01:35:32 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Bees through the Screen  (Read 940 times)
DaveKow
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 180


Location: Brookfield, Ohio, USA 44403


« on: May 07, 2008, 04:14:52 PM »

Just hived package Tues.  Was mowing around hives today and noticed bees seemed to be falling out the bottom of the hive.  I assume that the screen wasn't secured well enough and when I dumped the bees, the screen let loose.  I don't have a spare bottom board.  Now I am wondering what steps I need to take to attach a new screen. 

Thanks,
Dave
Logged
randydrivesabus
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1072

Location: Indian Valley, VA


« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2008, 04:24:55 PM »

can you just reattach the screen? or replace the screen with a new piece or with a solid bottom...like a piece pf plywood?
Logged
DaveKow
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 180


Location: Brookfield, Ohio, USA 44403


« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2008, 04:32:26 PM »

I guess my biggest concern is disturbing the hive so soon.  Do I just take the whole hive and set in on my top cover while I replace the screen?

Thank you,
Dave
Logged
randydrivesabus
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1072

Location: Indian Valley, VA


« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2008, 04:35:56 PM »

is it one deep? then what you say should be no problem. have all your fixing materials ready to go. It shouldn't take but a few minutes to fix.
Logged
suprstakr
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 149


Location: Pineville Mo


« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2008, 04:56:50 PM »

No worry lots of beeks run hives with no bottoms  grin
Logged
bassman1977
"King Bee"
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1787

Location: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania


« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2008, 07:54:47 PM »

Quote
No worry lots of beeks run hives with no bottoms

Heheh....my first thought too.

Quote
Do I just take the whole hive and set in on my top cover while I replace the screen?

That's what I would do.  I would probably wait until when the hive is at its smallest (for one of mine that would be 2 or 3 mediums high).
Logged

(\__/)
(='.'=)
(''')_(''')
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.462 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page September 17, 2014, 03:39:47 PM