Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
October 25, 2014, 10:59:57 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 24/7 Ventrilo Voice chat -click for instructions and free software here
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Sound  (Read 1846 times)
CTbeeman
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 28


Location: Stratford, Connecticut


« on: March 24, 2008, 03:22:17 PM »

My E machine craped the bed embarassed angry and I had another E machine, So to make a long story short I used both to make 1 working cpu. The problem is I have no sound, the drivers are not there. 
 
My question is, If I buy and install a soundcard will this take care of my problem? huh
Logged

If it isn't broken, don't try to fix it.
Bodo
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 81

Location: Crawfordville, FL


« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2008, 06:37:11 AM »

Short answer, it should.

What I would suggest is that you go to the emachine website and try to find the right driver.  I'm a little surprised that that computer had a separate sound card.  Most emachines that I've seen had them on the motherboard.
Logged
Understudy
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4640


Location: West Palm Beach, Fl


WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2008, 02:13:15 PM »

If you are running windoze, chech the device hardware and see if the sound card shows up in that.

If it does check the mixer. (do you have a speaker icon in the systray)

If you do is the vol and line turned up.

If yes check the speakers and the cable connection.

Sincerely,
Brendhan

Logged

The status is not quo. The world is a mess and I just need to rule it. Dr. Horrible
Shawn
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1215

Location: Glennallen, AK


« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2008, 02:16:49 PM »

I just repaired an emachine for a friend. I kill dsiked the hard drive thinking he had the recovery disk, wrong. When I was finished he did not have the drivers for the sound. I searched and searched for "sound drivers for emachine" and the only thing that came up was the Emachine driver site. I dont know why I was unable to install the drivers from their site. I found you need to look at the motherboard, brand or model and search for sound drivers for that motherboard. I believe most Emachine use Realtek Audio. Here is a link to a site with Realtek http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PFid=24&Level=4&Conn=3&DownTypeID=3. Hope that helps
Logged
gjcluttrell
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9

Location: Hopelessly Lost


« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2008, 09:30:39 AM »

Yes that will fix it. You mentioned you swapped out some parts....Did you swap out motherboards & was the sound ports integrated on he motherboard? If so, you need to go into the BIOS and make sure onboard sound is enabled if you replaced the MB.
Logged
CTbeeman
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 28


Location: Stratford, Connecticut


« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2008, 03:09:53 PM »

I did not swap out the motherboard, but the hard drive was shot so I swapped that with my old one. I am tring the download for the drivers. hope it works.
Logged

If it isn't broken, don't try to fix it.
CTbeeman
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 28


Location: Stratford, Connecticut


« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2008, 07:31:26 PM »

the download didn't work Cry
Logged

If it isn't broken, don't try to fix it.
buzzbee
Ken
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5466


Location: North Central PA


WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 05, 2008, 07:37:31 PM »

Did your e-machine come with a system restore disk?
Logged
Shawn
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1215

Location: Glennallen, AK


« Reply #8 on: April 06, 2008, 02:27:55 PM »

Did you try the link I posted above? If you dont have the restore disk ask a friend if they have a motherboard drivers disk, the one that comes with the motherboard or computer. If they do put it in and go to device manager. Find the "!" on the device, sound, and click reinstall driver. With the disk in it should take. Restart the computer and you should have sound. If that does not work get a sound card, only about $20.00 and you'll have sound. Being a gammer I did not know there was a big difference between onboard sound and a card. There is a huge difference. I think the sound card is much better.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.271 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page October 15, 2014, 04:32:00 AM
anything