Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
December 21, 2014, 10:40:52 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Anyone used 2 frame nuc boxes before?  (Read 3391 times)
Sir Stungalot
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 55

Location: N.E. Texas


« on: December 26, 2007, 09:18:36 AM »

I am doing a massive expansion this year.  I invested a lot in 2 frame nuc boxes and am wondering if anyone has actually ever USED them. I know they will need to be managed more carefully than 5 framers but, for me, the issue  is to get the max. number of splits off of each hive. Any imput?  Thanks.....
Logged
JP
The Swarm King
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 11688


Location: Metairie, Louisiana

I like doing cut-outs, but I love catching swarms!


WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2007, 11:34:11 AM »

Modified
Wow, two framed nuc boxes! If I were to use them, which I wouldn't, I would imagine you would use them for a very small colony come winter, or for a colony that's queenless, whereby you are trying to have them make a queen. It just seems like a waste of time, and effort, no offense. I'm curious to see other feedback.

Sincerely, JP
« Last Edit: December 26, 2007, 08:21:33 PM by JP » Logged

"Good friends are as sweet as honey" Winne the Pooh

My pictures can be viewed at http://picasaweb.google.com/pyxicephalus
and
http://picasaweb.google.com/112138792165178452970

My Youtube videos can be viewed here: http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=JPthebeeman&aq=f

My website JPthebeeman.com http://www.jpthebeeman.com/jpthebeeman/
Old Timer
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 142


Location: Lewisburg, West Virginia


« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2007, 01:29:12 PM »

They are most commonly used for queen breeding nucs. I use four frame nucs. One frame of honey/pollen, one frame of open brood, one frame of sealed brood, and one frame with foundation. After the foundation is mostly drawn out I'll add a second box on top. When the top is mostly drawn out I'll put the nucs into a deep. I don't think you'll like a two frame nuc much. Shortly after your queen starts laying they will need more space so you might as well start out with something a little bigger.
Logged
Scadsobees
Galactic Bee
******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3198


Location: Jenison, MI

Best use of smileys in a post award.


« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2007, 02:21:06 PM »

Disclaimer: I've never used them.  And probably won't except for my observation hive which is 2 frames....

However, if you already have the money into them... and want lots of splits, I suppose you could make 2 frame splits with queens or even queen cells, and when they are build up enough to go into a big box (medium or deep, whatever you use) then put them in there with drawn frames and honey and pollen frames that you've harvested from the other hives.  I don't think that they'd be in the 2-framers for very long, as Old Timer says.

And of course feed heavily.

-rick
Logged

Rick
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13967


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2007, 09:01:21 PM »

>I am doing a massive expansion this year.  I invested a lot in 2 frame nuc boxes and am wondering if anyone has actually ever USED them.

Not for splits.  I use them exclusively for mating nucs:

http://www.bushfarms.com/beesnucs.htm
http://www.bushfarms.com/images/AssortedWidths.JPG
http://www.bushfarms.com/images/TwoByFourMatingNucs.JPG
http://www.bushfarms.com/images/TwoByFourNuc2.jpg

Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Sir Stungalot
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 55

Location: N.E. Texas


« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2007, 12:43:21 PM »

I guess what I am actually using them for is a mating nuc (as Michael says). I do not want to put a couple frames of eggs/brood ect. into a full size box- to much space for them to have to defend ect.
Once it is full of bees (I hope pretty quick) and the new queen is laying, I figured there would be a better chance of them being able to hold their own.  Since I would only have to harvest a couple of frames per nuc box, each full size colony would yield more potential nucs.
These boxes only have a hole big enough for a single bee (MOL) to pass thru and again, would not be so likely to be ransacked by all my big colonies.  In addition to that, there is a slit to put the internal feeder (a boardman type but syrup  is located INSIDE the box) so I can feed non-stop to help get these small colonies going.  It just seemed a sensible thing to give a try. I am going to (hope) they are able to raise their own queen rather than have to purchase. I will begin this in Feb./March (in Texas brood rearing is going full tilt and this is the swarm season too). My first prime swarms usually issue about March 1st and I am trying to avoid this swarming by keeping the hives "thin" with these continual pulls of started queen cells ect.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.274 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page December 17, 2014, 07:29:52 AM
anything