Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
December 25, 2014, 04:22:58 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How do you do a hyperlink?  (Read 2450 times)
tillie
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 1740


Location: Atlanta, GA

Bee in N Georgia on a Blackberry flower


WWW
« on: November 06, 2007, 07:17:29 AM »

I'd like to be able to set up parts of a post to hyperlink to a web page rather than type in the http: address.  When I click on the hyperlink icon above, it highlights text but the text doesn't hyperlink because I can't figure out how to/where to put in the Internet address for the link. 

If I wanted to hyperlink weather site, this is what happens.  Although in my typing I can see in my post weather site, but it isn't highlighted because I didn't put an http address between the code.

If you click on "weather site", nothing happens because I've not found where to type in the weather site address.  If I type in the http address, it still doesn't give me the opportunity to type in "weather site" as the hyperlink.  http://www.wunderground.com/US/GA/Atlanta.html?bannertypeclick=miniWeather2

I'd like the last sentence in that paragraph to say "weather site" and when you click on it, then you'd be taken to the http address.

I'm confused.  Please help.

Linda T
Logged

http://beekeeperlinda.blogspot.com
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"You never can tell with bees" - Winnie the Pooh


Click for Atlanta, Georgia Forecast" border="0" height="60" width="468
pdmattox
Queen Bee
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1118


Location: lake city, florida


WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2007, 07:51:51 AM »

hope this helps, I just found this thread. http://forum.beemaster.com/index.php?topic=10783.0
Logged

Robo
Technical
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6436


Location: Scenic Catskill Mountains - NY

Beekeep On!


WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2007, 08:08:23 AM »

Examples are demonstrated in the forum help.
http://forum.beemaster.com/index.php?action=help;page=post#bbcref



Logged

"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison


reinbeau
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2502


Location: Hanson, MA and Lebanon, ME


« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2007, 04:41:59 PM »

Robo, can this forum software be configured to create the link with text the way many other forums work?  This is a very confusing thing to those who don't understand tags (I'm not bragging, but I usually just type the whole mess in by hand while using clipboard-stored url addresses).  Usually if you highlight text to try to turn it into a link you're offered a box with the default 'htttp:' where you can insert the URL text (which I know you already knew).  It seems to be a limitation around here.
Logged


- Ann, A Gardening Beek -  ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

Click for Hanson, Massachusetts Forecast" border="0" height="150" width="256
tillie
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 1740


Location: Atlanta, GA

Bee in N Georgia on a Blackberry flower


WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2007, 10:20:32 PM »

Thanks for the help.  I think I can do this now.  I'm sorry to have posted something redundant.  I searched "inserting hyperlink" and found nothing which is why I put the post up. 

sorry about that  Undecided

Thanks for the help,

Linda T in Atlanta
Logged

http://beekeeperlinda.blogspot.com
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"You never can tell with bees" - Winnie the Pooh


Click for Atlanta, Georgia Forecast" border="0" height="60" width="468
Robo
Technical
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6436


Location: Scenic Catskill Mountains - NY

Beekeep On!


WWW
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2007, 06:42:18 AM »

Tillie,

No problem,  at least you attempted to find the answer first.  I know the help is not the most straight forward thing to navigate, but there is a lot of information in there.  I think most people tend to forget about the help section, because quite frankly, most online applications have very poor help.  I find the BBC chart (linked above) probably the most useful.

Ann,

No the software does support hyperlink pop-ups.  I tend to shy away from javascript pop-ups because they are annoying and less efficient once one knows the commands and just type them.  I'll see if I can throw one together for this one particular button and we can see how it goes.
Logged

"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison


Robo
Technical
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6436


Location: Scenic Catskill Mountains - NY

Beekeep On!


WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 07, 2007, 06:57:17 AM »

Testing hyperlink popup.

Beemaster Forums


Here ya go Ann.....should be working now....If folks find it a nuisance, I'll have to remove it.
Logged

"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison


reinbeau
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2502


Location: Hanson, MA and Lebanon, ME


« Reply #7 on: November 07, 2007, 06:59:27 AM »

Thanx, Robo, but as I said, I type it all in - but people who aren't tag-savvy and come here from other forums won't know the lingo.  Hopefully they'll find it helpful!
Logged


- Ann, A Gardening Beek -  ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

Click for Hanson, Massachusetts Forecast" border="0" height="150" width="256
Robo
Technical
Administrator
Galactic Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6436


Location: Scenic Catskill Mountains - NY

Beekeep On!


WWW
« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2007, 07:37:45 AM »

Thanx, Robo, but as I said, I type it all in - but people who aren't tag-savvy and come here from other forums won't know the lingo.  Hopefully they'll find it helpful!

I heard you the first time,  but since you suggested it, I thought I should deliver it to you Wink

When doing linked thumbnails,  I like to cut and paste the thumbnail link,  high light it and click the image button to put the [ img] & [ /img] around it,  and then click the hyperlink button to put the  [ url] & [ /url] around it.  Then just paste the full image link inside the [ url]  with an =.   I'm sure I'm not the only one that does this,  so it will be interesting to see if the pop-up bothers others besides me.
Logged

"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison


reinbeau
Super Bee
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2502


Location: Hanson, MA and Lebanon, ME


« Reply #9 on: November 07, 2007, 08:43:05 AM »

Ah, gotcha.  I don't even use the img button, or the link button, I type the beginning tag, hit ctl-v, which activates my Clipmate program where I've already put the link to whatever, it pastes it in and then I close the tag.  So it won't bother me a bit.  I know, I know, the horse is dead, but I wanted to explain my method, too.  It's a lovely day out there, time to get moving......away from the keyboard!  Wink
Logged


- Ann, A Gardening Beek -  ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

Click for Hanson, Massachusetts Forecast" border="0" height="150" width="256
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 1.852 seconds with 22 queries.

Google visited last this page November 15, 2014, 02:35:14 PM
anything