Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
September 02, 2014, 01:09:28 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: ATTENTION ALL NEW MEMBERS
PLEASE READ THIS OR YOUR ACCOUNT MAY BE DELETED - CLICK HERE
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Swarm in "foam" Nuc  (Read 1818 times)
JamesWard
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


Location: Central NY (near Syracuse)


« on: August 11, 2004, 08:35:09 AM »

Yesterday morning I noticed a good sized swarm that had decided to land in my apple tree... about 10 foot from my 2 hives.  The only thing I had to capture them in was one of those Polystyrene 5 frame Nuc boxes, which say you can pump upto 2 liters of sugar syrup into them every few days for feeding.  This swarm I assume is not from my hives since both my hives are still going strong, no queen cells have ever been seen, no signs of swarming ever and the swarm was within 10 foot of my hives.  

 smiley How long should I feed these bees in the Polystyrene Nuc before opening the entrance?  It has the disk entrance as well as 2 vent holes.  Will they be ok (being fed in the box) until I can get a 10 frame hive in about a week?  Should I leave them in the Nuc (and closed in) until they have brood? smiley

Peace,
Jim
Logged

Support our troops, NOT Their Leader!!  BUSH MUST GO!!!
Anonymous
Guest
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2004, 09:29:52 AM »

James, I have collected swarms and helped collect them a few times this summer and I will tell you that we put them in a hive where they are to stay and open the hive up for them to do normal bee things. There fore I'm sure you can leave them in the nuc opened up to let them do bee things then when the hive body arrives just transfer them. Since it is so late in the year I would feed them to help them get a good build up of comb for honey storage. I think I would even start the winter formula of 2 cups of sugar to one cup of water to help them since at this time of year many are saying it is to late to build a colony up. I disagree with that thinking unless you are going to just let them fend for them selves.
 Cheesy Al
Logged
JamesWard
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


Location: Central NY (near Syracuse)


« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2004, 09:43:25 AM »

I had intended to feed them up as best I could.  This is my first swarm catch, so wasn't sure how long (if at all) I should feed them and leave them locked in the hive... with ventilation of course.

Thanks,
Jim
Logged

Support our troops, NOT Their Leader!!  BUSH MUST GO!!!
wingmaster
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 23

Location: arizona


« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2005, 10:47:08 AM »

You need to let them fly or they will get Nosema. I have hived a lot of
swarms and if you give them a good home and you got the queen they will
stay. If you put some drown comb in with them when you first box them they will go right to work. I only close off there entrance when I am moving them or when some one is spraying near by. and then only for a short time. The only  Exception is Africanized bees they will leave even after they have brood if you disturb them, not much of a loss there. If they leave there doing you a good deed
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.681 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page August 21, 2014, 05:40:53 AM
anything