Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Changing Out Existing Hive to HSC  (Read 6617 times)

Offline DayValleyDahlias

  • Super Bee
  • *****
  • Posts: 1629
  • Gender: Female
    • DayValleyDahlia's Blog
Changing Out Existing Hive to HSC
« on: October 14, 2007, 04:08:04 PM »
Forgive me if I keep asking the same questions, but here goes:

1. When would be the best time to introduce HSC to the brood box of my already existing hive?  Seems as though I shouldn't "mess" with it until Spring?

2.  When I do add the HSC core to the brood box, what on Earth should I do with the frames I pull?  Sacrifice any brood on them?

Thanks a million~*~

Sharon

Offline Robo

  • Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • *******
  • Posts: 6492
  • Gender: Male
  • Beekeep On!
    • Robo's World
Re: Changing Out Existing Hive to HSC
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2007, 04:25:20 PM »
Forgive me if I keep asking the same questions, but here goes:

1. When would be the best time to introduce HSC to the brood box of my already existing hive?  Seems as though I shouldn't "mess" with it until Spring?
Yes, now would not be a good time. Wait until Spring.

Quote
2.  When I do add the HSC core to the brood box, what on Earth should I do with the frames I pull?  Sacrifice any brood on them?

Or put them above an excluder so the queen can't get to them and wait for the brood to hatch before yanking them. Just keep an eye out for queen cells,  sometimes the bees will try to raise a queen above the excluder if there are eggs up there.
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison



Offline Michael Bush

  • Universal Bee
  • *******
  • Posts: 14535
  • Gender: Male
    • bushfarms.com
Re: Changing Out Existing Hive to HSC
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2007, 06:42:38 PM »
>1. When would be the best time to introduce HSC to the brood box of my already existing hive?
Anytime from spring to fall.

> Seems as though I shouldn't "mess" with it until Spring?

Correct.

>2.  When I do add the HSC core to the brood box, what on Earth should I do with the frames I pull?

Only pull empty, honey or pollen and make sure you don't pull ALL of the honey or pollen.

> Sacrifice any brood on them?

Never.
Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen

Offline DayValleyDahlias

  • Super Bee
  • *****
  • Posts: 1629
  • Gender: Female
    • DayValleyDahlia's Blog
Re: Changing Out Existing Hive to HSC
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2007, 11:56:23 PM »
Fabulous, thanks so...I feel I have a handle on it now!  Hooray!

Offline KONASDAD

  • Super Bee
  • *****
  • Posts: 2011
  • Gender: Male
Re: Changing Out Existing Hive to HSC
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2007, 04:54:56 PM »
what would you do w/ the "throw away" frames and whatever they might contain(pollen/honey) ?

 I have some other questions too about HSC-
does it count as small cell since its about 5.1mm?

do the frames hold up to the rigors of beekeeping? I'm tired of broken frames and need to find a better supplier than the local manufacturer  for frames.

How long should it take to "feed-in" all ten frames in a deep?

how many do I feed in at a time?
"The more complex the Mind, the Greater the need for the simplicity of Play".

Offline Robo

  • Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • *******
  • Posts: 6492
  • Gender: Male
  • Beekeep On!
    • Robo's World
Re: Changing Out Existing Hive to HSC
« Reply #5 on: November 02, 2007, 09:33:34 PM »
what would you do w/ the "throw away" frames and whatever they might contain(pollen/honey) ?
Use them for honey supers, swarm traps,  melt them down for the wax, etc.........
Quote
I have some other questions too about HSC-
does it count as small cell since its about 5.1mm?
Not sure where you got the 5.1mm unless you are confusing it with permacomb.  HSC is 4.9.
Quote
do the frames hold up to the rigors of beekeeping? I'm tired of broken frames and need to find a better supplier than the local manufacturer  for frames.
This is my first season with them, but I am quite happy with how they hold up.  Besides some minor warping,  they are heavy duty.  I hated pierco plastic frames as they where flimsy and hard to hold with grips.  No trouble with HSC, they are quite sturdy.
Quote
How long should it take to "feed-in" all ten frames in a deep?

how many do I feed in at a time?
I haven't heard of many folks having any luck feeding them in as the bees will ignore them.  I have only forced them as recommended.  After about 3 brood cycles,  they use all the cells just as well as wax comb.



"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison



Offline Hopeful

  • House Bee
  • **
  • Posts: 158
  • Gender: Male
Re: Changing Out Existing Hive to HSC
« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2007, 09:08:41 PM »
Uh, Newbee here. What is HSC? Sorry for the manifested ingorance....
"And this is life eternal...." "John 17:3

Offline Robo

  • Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • *******
  • Posts: 6492
  • Gender: Male
  • Beekeep On!
    • Robo's World
Re: Changing Out Existing Hive to HSC
« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2007, 09:44:23 PM »
Honey Super Cell -  4.9mm fully drawn plastic brood frames.  www.honeysupercell.com

Considered instant regression to small cell.


« Last Edit: December 02, 2007, 11:01:30 PM by Robo »
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison



Offline Michael Bush

  • Universal Bee
  • *******
  • Posts: 14535
  • Gender: Male
    • bushfarms.com
Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen

Offline Hopeful

  • House Bee
  • **
  • Posts: 158
  • Gender: Male
Re: Changing Out Existing Hive to HSC
« Reply #9 on: November 06, 2007, 08:43:49 AM »
Thanks. :)
"And this is life eternal...." "John 17:3

Offline CWBees

  • House Bee
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Gender: Male
    • CWBees
Re: Changing Out Existing Hive to HSC
« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2008, 05:43:14 PM »
I would checkerboard them in your super. I think this gets them accepted faster.
A swarm in May is worth a bale of hay.
A swarm in June is worth a silver spoon.
A swarm in July isn't worth a fly.

Offline DayValleyDahlias

  • Super Bee
  • *****
  • Posts: 1629
  • Gender: Female
    • DayValleyDahlia's Blog
Re: Changing Out Existing Hive to HSC
« Reply #11 on: January 19, 2008, 06:35:44 PM »
Well, I have changed my mind.  I ordered 2 packages, and hopefully I will get them, but I think I will prepare their brood box with the 4.9 wax foundation from Dadant, since I will have to feed anyway???  Just plop the in their and hope for the best?

After the brood gets established, and it is time to add the honey supers, is this where starter strip comes in?  Or, should I just keep adding full 4.9 wired wax foundation?   :roll:

Offline johnnybigfish

  • Super Bee
  • *****
  • Posts: 2039
  • Gender: Male
    • The World of Johnnybigfish
Re: Changing Out Existing Hive to HSC
« Reply #12 on: January 19, 2008, 08:29:47 PM »
Hey, hopeful, I'm glad you asked that 'cuz I was wondering the same thing. Sometimes I feel like Im at work with all the letters used for words here your friend,
john

Offline Michael Bush

  • Universal Bee
  • *******
  • Posts: 14535
  • Gender: Male
    • bushfarms.com
Re: Changing Out Existing Hive to HSC
« Reply #13 on: January 19, 2008, 10:03:52 PM »
>Well, I have changed my mind.  I ordered 2 packages, and hopefully I will get them, but I think I will prepare their brood box with the 4.9 wax foundation from Dadant, since I will have to feed anyway???  Just plop the in their and hope for the best?

Foundation will work fine too.  Or starter strips.  The foundation will have to be installed properly.  The wired usually has extra wire sticking out that goes around the cleat (wedge) and sometimes it's a bit long for a grooved bottom board.  I haven't had any of Dadant's so I don't know, but these have been a problem in the past with wired foundation.  If you buy deep unwired you can wire it with two horizontals and leave the gap at the bottom.  Or you can cut it into starter strips and wax it into the groove at the top.

>After the brood gets established, and it is time to add the honey supers, is this where starter strip comes in?  Or, should I just keep adding full 4.9 wired wax foundation?

Only use wired if you intend to extract it.  Otherwise I'd use starter strips or thin surplus.  7/11 has the advantage that the queen won't like laying in it.

>Sometimes I feel like Im at work with all the letters used for words here

If you find one you don't recognize, just look it up:

http://www.bushfarms.com/beesglossary.htm
Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen


Offline rdy-b

  • Super Bee
  • *****
  • Posts: 2258
Re: Changing Out Existing Hive to HSC
« Reply #15 on: January 20, 2008, 01:24:29 AM »
YA dont you shoot dice  :-D  RDY-B

Offline DayValleyDahlias

  • Super Bee
  • *****
  • Posts: 1629
  • Gender: Female
    • DayValleyDahlia's Blog
Re: Changing Out Existing Hive to HSC
« Reply #16 on: January 20, 2008, 10:59:01 AM »
No Dice!   but is that craps?  Oh golly, now I really feel stugatz!

Offline Robo

  • Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • *******
  • Posts: 6492
  • Gender: Male
  • Beekeep On!
    • Robo's World
Re: Changing Out Existing Hive to HSC
« Reply #17 on: January 20, 2008, 12:05:33 PM »
7/11 ?

It's sized so the queen thinks it is too big for worker brood, but too small for drone brood, so she won't lay in it.  At least that is the theory.

http://go.netgrab.com/secure/kelleystore/asp/product.asp?product=114
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison



Offline Robo

  • Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • *******
  • Posts: 6492
  • Gender: Male
  • Beekeep On!
    • Robo's World
Re: Changing Out Existing Hive to HSC
« Reply #18 on: January 20, 2008, 12:11:03 PM »
I would checkerboard them in your super. I think this gets them accepted faster.

Did you spray it or treat it in any way before using it?  I have had no luck getting them to accept it as long as there is wax frames in the hive.  They will ignore the HSC like the plague.   Once it has been used,  they have no problem with it.
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison



Offline Michael Bush

  • Universal Bee
  • *******
  • Posts: 14535
  • Gender: Male
    • bushfarms.com
Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen