Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: speeding up Firefox on Broadband!!  (Read 2670 times)

Online buzzbee

  • Ken
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • *******
  • Posts: 5616
  • Gender: Male
    • N Central Pa Beekeepers Facebook Page
speeding up Firefox on Broadband!!
« on: August 06, 2007, 06:54:17 PM »
Here is something drobbins posted over at beesource.Hope he doesn't mind I borrowed this tip.I tried it and it makes quite a difference!

Hey Folks,

here's a neat trick I stumbled across
for broadband users only, DON"T do this if you have a slow connection, it will make it worse
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
This is simple, and works wonders for page loading speed!

Want Firefox to run 2/3 times faster? Course you do. Read on...

Here's something for broadband (will have the opposite effect for 56kers)
people that will really speed Firefox up:

1. Type "about:config" into the address bar and hit return. Scroll down
and look for the following entries:

network.http.pipelining
network.http.proxy.pipelining
network.http.pipelining.maxrequests

Normally the browser will make one request to a web page at a time. When
you enable pipelining it will make several at once, which really speeds up
page loading.

2. Alter the entries as follows: (by double clicking them)

Set "network.http.pipelining" to "true"

Set "network.http.proxy.pipelining" to "true"

Set "network.http.pipelining.maxrequests" to some number like 30. This
means it will make 30 requests at once.

3. Lastly right-click anywhere and select New-> Integer. Name it
"nglayout.initialpaint.delay" and set its value to "0". This value is the
amount of time the browser waits before it acts on information it
recieves.

If you're using a broadband connection you'll load pages 2-3 times faster
now. I swear it works, pages are loaded in a split second for me now. Very
Happy

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
this has worked well for me
restart firefox after you do it

Dave
__________________
www.drobbins.net/bee's/
Reply With Quote


Offline ooptec

  • House Bee
  • **
  • Posts: 196
  • Gender: Male
    • Beginners foray into TBH's in Canada
Re: speeding up Firefox on Broadband!!
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2007, 06:28:04 PM »
wow

thanks a lot

Am kind of cheap and am on H.s. lite and now is i think faster than full H.S.

cheers

peter

Offline Mici

  • Super Bee
  • *****
  • Posts: 1502
  • Gender: Male
  • tougher than rock
    • http://www.carantha.net/carantha_table_of_contents.htm
Re: speeding up Firefox on Broadband!!
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2007, 07:32:50 PM »
i did it, but...i can't really tell if it works, since i was actually happy with the loading time and all. but today i am experiencing some troubles (just slow loading) with beemasters sites.
anyway...did it, can't hurt.

Offline randydrivesabus

  • Queen Bee
  • ****
  • Posts: 1072
Re: speeding up Firefox on Broadband!!
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2007, 08:25:26 PM »
i did it and it works great so far. thanks Dave. not sure why it isn't just automatically configured like that.

Offline pdmattox

  • Queen Bee
  • ****
  • Posts: 1122
  • Gender: Male
    • October bend Rv Park
Re: speeding up Firefox on Broadband!!
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2007, 08:32:10 PM »
It works great. thanks ken for finding this and posting, and thanks dave for the tip.
i did it and it works great so far. thanks Dave. not sure why it isn't just automatically configured like that.
I belive they do it that way for the dial up users would be oppisite effect.

Offline Michael Bush

  • Universal Bee
  • *******
  • Posts: 14274
  • Gender: Male
    • bushfarms.com
Re: speeding up Firefox on Broadband!!
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2007, 10:51:29 PM »
I have none of those entries.
Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen

Offline randydrivesabus

  • Queen Bee
  • ****
  • Posts: 1072
Re: speeding up Firefox on Broadband!!
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2007, 07:20:17 AM »
do you have the latest version of firefox?

Offline reinbeau

  • Super Bee
  • *****
  • Posts: 2502
  • Gender: Female
Re: speeding up Firefox on Broadband!!
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2007, 08:22:41 AM »
I have none of those entries.

But you're on dialup, right?  Don't do this if you're on dialup.

As for not having the entries, you should have the first three (all Firefox 2 installs have them), the fourth you add, if you're on any kind of high speed internet access.

- Ann, A Gardening Beek -  ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

Click for Hanson, Massachusetts Forecast" border="0" height="150" width="256

Offline Michael Bush

  • Universal Bee
  • *******
  • Posts: 14274
  • Gender: Male
    • bushfarms.com
Re: speeding up Firefox on Broadband!!
« Reply #8 on: August 11, 2007, 03:47:16 PM »
>do you have the latest version of firefox?

Yes.

>But you're on dialup, right?  Don't do this if you're on dialup.

I just got a high gain antenna that does line of sight to a water tower in a nearby town.

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen

Offline mick

  • Queen Bee
  • ****
  • Posts: 1450
Re: speeding up Firefox on Broadband!!
« Reply #9 on: September 01, 2007, 09:29:05 PM »
Ive done it and will let you know how it goes!

Offline mick

  • Queen Bee
  • ****
  • Posts: 1450
Re: speeding up Firefox on Broadband!!
« Reply #10 on: September 01, 2007, 09:40:08 PM »
Oh wow wee!!!!!!!!!! Is this what broandband is meant to be like!!!!!

My regular pages no load before I have looked up from the keyboard to the screen!

Big photo pages are about 4 times faster to load.

Offline eivindm

  • Global Moderator
  • Field Bee
  • *****
  • Posts: 659
  • Gender: Male
    • Apinews
Re: speeding up Firefox on Broadband!!
« Reply #11 on: September 09, 2007, 10:07:35 AM »
... or you could just install the fasterfox plugin to let it do the tweaking for you :-)
http://fasterfox.mozdev.org/


Online buzzbee

  • Ken
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • *******
  • Posts: 5616
  • Gender: Male
    • N Central Pa Beekeepers Facebook Page
Re: speeding up Firefox on Broadband!!
« Reply #12 on: September 09, 2007, 11:25:25 AM »
eivindm,
This link opens a netscape window of sorts and says the plugin is not comaptible with the netscape browser. i am using firefox,so I don't get it.I'll research it farther!

Offline eivindm

  • Global Moderator
  • Field Bee
  • *****
  • Posts: 659
  • Gender: Male
    • Apinews
Re: speeding up Firefox on Broadband!!
« Reply #13 on: September 09, 2007, 01:28:58 PM »
eivindm,
This link opens a netscape window of sorts and says the plugin is not comaptible with the netscape browser. i am using firefox,so I don't get it.I'll research it farther!

This version of fasterfox should work with firefox 1.5 and 2.0.  You're not having an older version?

 

anything