Need Bees Removed?
International
Beekeeping Forums
July 22, 2014, 03:41:47 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Beemaster's official FACEBOOK page
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar bee removal Login Register Chat  

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: wax moth damage  (Read 1199 times)
Zoot
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 466

Location: Dickerson, MD


« on: July 23, 2007, 01:02:18 AM »

Is it worth keeping frames that have been ravaged by wax moths? In the past I've destroyed them but I have 3 mediums that I just discovered with significant infestation. I was going to spray them with Certan tomorrow and was wondering - since all of the frames have drawn comb - if it's feasable to use them again. I scraped away all of the visible tunnels, larva, etc.
Logged
fcderosa
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 132


Location: Elizabethtown, Kentucky


« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2007, 07:18:30 AM »

If you have a freezer I'd freeze them and then let the bees fix the damage.
Logged

The good life is honey on a Ritz.
Potlicker1
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 92


Location: Sobieski,Wisconsin


« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2007, 09:52:05 AM »

I've used them in the past and a strong hive will clean it up and use it just fine.
Logged
Tug Fork Bob
New Bee
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6

Location: SE Iowa


« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2007, 11:56:09 AM »

If you have an air comresser with an air gun try using that to get rid of the webs.  If you keep the pressure low it gets rid of them without tearing up the comb.  At least it worked good for me. (might work with the exhaust from a shop vac too but never tried that).

Hope this helps

Bob
Logged
Zoot
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 466

Location: Dickerson, MD


« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2007, 01:06:54 PM »

Thanks gentlemen.

I had used an air compressor and a small scraper previously and then, unwisely,  put them back into my weakest hive. without treating them.  Apparently enough eggs were still there undetected so that the infestation returned. Lesson learned.

I'm curious as to whether anyone has experienced increased frequency of wax moth trouble when using top entrances.
Logged
BEE C
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 329


Location: British Columbia, Canada


« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2007, 04:05:22 PM »

I bought some old equipment this year with wax moth webs.  I scraped the frames but eventually cleaned the wax out of them and scrapped the frames.  The hive bodies I burnt the insides with a torch, and then froze them before giving them back to the bees.  If you have splits or nucs that you would be using them for I would freeze and burn them.  Very strong hives can clean them up, but I would not want to risk a wax moth explosion...
Logged
amandrea
House Bee
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 66

Location: New Jersey


« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2007, 05:53:39 PM »

I put up a moth trap as describred else where in the forum about two weeks ago and it is still catching moths!
Logged
Michael Bush
Universal Bee
*******
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13563


Location: Nehawka, NE


WWW
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2007, 09:36:24 PM »

If there is just a web running through it I let them clean it up.  If it's all webs, I tear it all out for them, as it is a lot of work for the bees to do so.
Logged

Michael Bush
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--Rick Nielsen
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Beemaster's Beekeeping Ring
Previous | Home | Join | Random | Next
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.126 seconds with 21 queries.

Google visited last this page July 07, 2014, 04:39:26 PM